Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-17-2019, 12:14 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 199
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

I repeat; I have no problem with HT on my Mac Pro (10.13.6 PTU2018.12) and all my other macs.
For AU only plugins, I use Patchwork, which works perfect under Protools.

And as other users said in this thread. El Capitan is the unstablest and overall the worst OSX. There are Problems with the Core Audio Framework and more more. Try to update your OSX to High Sierra. Maybe PT2018 works better...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-17-2019, 01:06 AM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 227
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Yes that's hilarious. Didn't even know it was a confirmed fact. But NOT the case with Media Composer.. ehm. I bet Pro Tools could perform better too... if they optimized Pro Tools for hyper threading...

From Avid.com recommended Win 10 optimizations:

"Disable Hyper-Threading

This optimization prevents processor Hyper-Threading, which can cause CPU errors in Pro Tools. Note that some other applications, including Media Composer, may perform better with Hyper-Threading enabled. Hyper-Threading settings are found in the BIOS, and they vary by computer model and BIOS version. Consult your computer or motherboard manufacturer to determine if these settings are available on your system, and to learn how to disable them."

Lol!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-17-2019, 03:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,797
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
It breaks the ULA and the copyrights.

I've heard that Jailbreaking is now legal in EU but I haven't seen anything saying that it applies to computers so as far as I know, it's still illegal in the EU.
Beyond the legality as far as jailbreaking goes on things like cell phones it also voids the warranty IIRC.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-17-2019, 05:28 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 616
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I do find it amusing people getting mega heated about software piracy, but many are willing to turn a blind eye to people running Mac OS on a non Apple machine.
I find it amusing people defending a company that has completely abandoned their professional users. At this point, apple is lucky that people are building the machines they SHOULD be building instead of abandoning the platform.

I have a 12 core trashcan and two 7980xe hacks as well as 36TB hack server. The hacks run better than the trashcan, and strict apple users have no idea how much they are missing compared to state of the art native.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-17-2019, 05:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,797
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I do find it amusing people getting mega heated about software piracy, but many are willing to turn a blind eye to people running Mac OS on a non Apple machine.

Out of sight, out of mind?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And I find it further amusing when somebody running a Hack comes on here and bitches about having problems with PT on it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-17-2019, 06:24 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
I find it amusing people defending a company that has completely abandoned their professional users. At this point, apple is lucky that people are building the machines they SHOULD be building instead of abandoning the platform.

I have a 12 core trashcan and two 7980xe hacks as well as 36TB hack server. The hacks run better than the trashcan, and strict apple users have no idea how much they are missing compared to state of the art native.


You’ve totally missed my point.

FYI - I setup a Hackintosh when Tiger was the current Mac OS. Wasn’t as easy as it is now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-17-2019, 07:02 AM
roboman01 roboman01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Wauchula
Posts: 151
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
There is no such thing as a legal Hackintosh and having a sticker on a case means nothing. I still submit that system you're running is the problem and you can't expect for Avid to have any sympathy for you. Maybe if you ran a true Mac you'd have success.
You heroes know nothing!!! I have 2 MacBook Pros, one 15" and one 17"...Because I built my own Mac Pro you are saying its not legal? If this is the case then why does Apple allow installation of OS X on any supported hardware? Apple hardware is nothing more than the regular PC people have at home, Apple just puts their "Apple Logo" on it and say "Hey look we have our own product" but inside the case is a Gigabyte motherboard, Intel Processor and Corsair memory. Think of it like this, HP sells computers with Microsoft pre-installed, so does that mean I cannot install Linux on that computer? What Apple did was take an OS and try to make it their own and Apple knows in COURT they would lose the argument of people installing that OS onto any system. What the courts have decided in the past was people cannot SELL them but the court said people can install OS X onto any PC they choose because if they couldn't it would be a monopoly since Apple opened up on using Intel Processors. Trust me I know more about this than most of you do, I've been building these machines since I think it was around 2006. I've built over a 1,000 PCs, dozens of servers (mickey softs) and a few OS X Servers. Now I am not saying I know everything because I don't but don't sit here and belittle people because they choose to buy OS X and install it on the same hardware that Apple uses. I buy everything, I don't pirate nothing and I surely don't steal like some of you on here do. I've paid over $5k for the software I have from originally purchasing Pro Tools, then the upgrade now the monthly subscription. I've purchased Akai Pro Studio only to be thwarted by Akai on the current "Aka Software" to force people to buy the upgrade. I've paid what close to $500 for Omnisphere 2 then the $400 for Keyscape, thousands of dollars for ReFX and their expansions, approx $4k for my Korg Kronos X and thousands of dollars for the expansions.

So trust me I know a lot more than you think. But nobody has answered why whenever I load a plugin into Pro Tools 2018 I get dropouts but if I load VEP5 then load the plugin that way its fine, no issues at all. And please do not say its my hardware because its not. Its most likely something software side and it could be within OS X itself. So, I have install High Sierra on one of my other SSDs, which I have 10 HDDs, 4 which are SSDs and all operating systems are installed on the SSDs. I will test that out to see if it makes a difference.

I've never complained about Pro Tools except their subscription stunt so now I complain something legit and boom I get hammered for it. So the way I see it, no wonder a lot of people don't come on here because of people like some of ya who are arrogant and selfish.

Yes I Googled and EVERY single link pointing to the forums the MODERATOR always says "Turn off HT"....Its 2019 and when MODs are telling people to turn of HT that shows me Pro Tools is not setup for HT like every other DAW is. You show me one other DAW besides Pro Tools that is not setup for HT I will shut up. I have used Logic and others and they support HT perfectly.

EDIT:

One last thing I had no issue until this last update!!! So think about it...Geez instead of arguing with people maybe some should think of helping or giving advice. If you come in a post just to argue on what a person has installed maybe its best to just shut up and don't post at all!!! Very selfish people in this world and I mean very selfish!!!

Good day!!!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-17-2019, 07:33 AM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 118
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

I have run PT on both platforms for years, including self build PCs and have always run with HT enabled. I don't do hackintosh but it sounds like a hardware or driver issue to me.

Avoiding polarizing statements on OS viability and focusing on practical troubleshooting, you might want to try running Windows 7 or 10 on a different drive just as a test to see if the system behavior improves.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-17-2019, 08:38 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,797
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by roboman01 View Post
You heroes know nothing!!! I have 2 MacBook Pros, one 15" and one 17"...Because I built my own Mac Pro you are saying its not legal? If this is the case then why does Apple allow installation of OS X on any supported hardware?
Apple does NOT allow installation of OSX on anything other Apple hardware; doesn't matter whether that h/w is supported or not. To do otherwise goes against the EULA as you've already been told. Have you looked at the links Manny provided?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-17-2019, 08:44 AM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 699
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Let's see! Hyperthreading is two "Virtual", "Pseudo" or "Fake" cores running on one "REAL" core that require some sort of overhead in the microcode taking up cycles. These "Virtual" cores are not full speed either, you can't get something for nothing. I've been building PCs for 35 years, longer than some members here have been alive and pretty much every optimization guide I've seen for a DAW in the 1st 25-30 years of that 35 have suggested that you turn hyperthreading OFF!. The new $420 Intel i7 9700K 8 Core CPU doesn't even have hyperthreading, it's 8 cores & 8 threads, plain & simple. I just ordered parts for a new system that has a i9 9900K CPU and i'm fairly determined at this point to turn hyperthreading off. I want real cores running full-tilt boogie, not fake ones sharing cycles and if you're running a M-Audio interface with contracted, inefficient drivers it shouldn't really matter in the 1st place.

EDIT: I consider a Hackintosh to be "Off Label" use of OSX.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 16 in/8 out
192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800 & AD16X
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card - OS X 10.13.6

2008 Mac Pro 3.1
3.2 GHz 8-core
32 Gb RAM
EVGA GTX 680 - OS X 10.8.5

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hyperthreading mikeyman Pro Tools 10 15 01-06-2014 02:34 PM
Does Pro Tools LE Utilize Hyperthreading in the new Mac Pro's? Monaco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-10-2009 09:15 AM
Hyperthreading thenchel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-18-2006 12:39 PM
...hyperthreading.. jrod096 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-28-2005 11:19 AM
HYPERTHREADING SUPPORT IN PRO TOOLS LE 6.7?? Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 09-08-2005 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com