Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-16-2019, 03:48 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,325
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
Nonsense.
A Hackintosh is legally OK. If Avid ever approves such a system is another story.
Are hackintosh Legal in the US?

And here's an other article about it
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-16-2019, 06:16 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,989
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Thanks for the links Manny. I knew some of what the first article talks about but didn't have a link I could reference.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-16-2019, 06:18 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,989
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
Also building a Mac with PC components is not illegal in the US as long as I do so for personal usage.
Building such a Mac may not be illegal but using Apple software to run it as a Mac IS illegal in the US. Or didn't you read the first article Manny linked to?

On an aside - I thought you were done with the DUC as you mentioned in another thread here?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-16-2019, 06:59 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,325
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
Also building a Mac with PC components is not illegal in the US as long as I do so for personal usage.
It breaks the ULA and the copyrights.

I've heard that Jailbreaking is now legal in EU but I haven't seen anything saying that it applies to computers so as far as I know, it's still illegal in the EU.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-16-2019, 08:21 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 167
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roboman01 View Post
Avid needs to get off their buttocks and tweaks Pro Tools for utilizing HYPERTHREADING. We are in 2019 and PTs is the ONLY DAW I've found that has issues using HT!!!

I get all kinds of dropouts just using one single AU synth. I have an i7 4770k with 2400mhz 16gb RAM all on SSD. Also I am using El Capitan. There is no reason for this Avid, none at all. I should not have to just go into my bios just to disable HT. What bothers me, on the dropouts, I am watching my CPU utilization and they don't even touch 8%, just core 4 is being used and boom dropouts. I dont' get no errors just the normal dropout .

Avid is adding this and that with all these nice cool features but lacking HT support is just plain stupid. I've used a few other DAWs and I can tell you Pro Tools is the ONLY one that has issues with HT being on. Its just dumb. FIX this please because its getting stupid. I shouldn't have to turn of HT just to just PT 2018. I guess I need to just cut off my subscription and move on like others have done. Maybe its time to permanently move over to something else.
El cap - 3 year old os - probably the worst MACOS in recent history.
Au - not supported in PT
Non-apple computer?

I have no issues what so ever with hyper threading on my 12-core MacPro macOS 10.13.6, PT 2018.12.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.4.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-16-2019, 09:28 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 776
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Is there some sort of apple police coming to water board you for hackintosh? Haha.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-16-2019, 09:52 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,497
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Is there some sort of apple police coming to water board you for hackintosh? Haha.

I do find it amusing people getting mega heated about software piracy, but many are willing to turn a blind eye to people running Mac OS on a non Apple machine.

Out of sight, out of mind?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-17-2019, 12:14 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 223
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

I repeat; I have no problem with HT on my Mac Pro (10.13.6 PTU2018.12) and all my other macs.
For AU only plugins, I use Patchwork, which works perfect under Protools.

And as other users said in this thread. El Capitan is the unstablest and overall the worst OSX. There are Problems with the Core Audio Framework and more more. Try to update your OSX to High Sierra. Maybe PT2018 works better...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-17-2019, 01:06 AM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 252
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading)

Yes that's hilarious. Didn't even know it was a confirmed fact. But NOT the case with Media Composer.. ehm. I bet Pro Tools could perform better too... if they optimized Pro Tools for hyper threading...

From Avid.com recommended Win 10 optimizations:

"Disable Hyper-Threading

This optimization prevents processor Hyper-Threading, which can cause CPU errors in Pro Tools. Note that some other applications, including Media Composer, may perform better with Hyper-Threading enabled. Hyper-Threading settings are found in the BIOS, and they vary by computer model and BIOS version. Consult your computer or motherboard manufacturer to determine if these settings are available on your system, and to learn how to disable them."

Lol!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-17-2019, 03:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,989
Default Re: C'mon Man!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
It breaks the ULA and the copyrights.

I've heard that Jailbreaking is now legal in EU but I haven't seen anything saying that it applies to computers so as far as I know, it's still illegal in the EU.
Beyond the legality as far as jailbreaking goes on things like cell phones it also voids the warranty IIRC.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hyperthreading mikeyman Pro Tools 10 15 01-06-2014 02:34 PM
Does Pro Tools LE Utilize Hyperthreading in the new Mac Pro's? Monaco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-10-2009 09:15 AM
Hyperthreading thenchel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-18-2006 12:39 PM
...hyperthreading.. jrod096 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-28-2005 11:19 AM
HYPERTHREADING SUPPORT IN PRO TOOLS LE 6.7?? Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 09-08-2005 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com