Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #311  
Old 02-18-2019, 06:49 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,124
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
Agreed, ProTools looks awful on Windows with dual displays and feels way less usable that way. The stacking menus and window title bars are just absurdly bad looking. I'm fine with Windows for a lot of other stuff, by the way. I run Windows at home and OSX at the studio. I would be fine moving to all Windows if ProTools wasn't so ugly on that operating system.
One word Skootch
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 02-18-2019, 07:19 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 151
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

I paid for Skootch back-in-the-day. I can't find it anywhere online. I can't find my confirmation email. Does it still exist? Does it still work? Where can you find it?
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 02-18-2019, 08:09 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,046
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Just release 2019.2 already so we can start a new thread��
Still prefered mac IIci for early color ProTools/SoundTools
Pre-web dos and a telephone for updates
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 02-18-2019, 08:48 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,115
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
Remember the old tascam 4 track or if you could afford the 8 track version both in tape cassette format
Yes of course. Terrible POS to record drums... had to use the first three for kick, snare and mono overhead and then "mix" the kit to fourth track before moving on. Point being..?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 02-18-2019, 10:06 AM
killah_trakz's Avatar
killah_trakz killah_trakz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 56
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCnSTL View Post
I paid for Skootch back-in-the-day. I can't find it anywhere online. I can't find my confirmation email. Does it still exist? Does it still work? Where can you find it?


Bobnagy@aol ..... just spoke to him yesterday.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
WENT FROM HD TO M-POWERED
Reply With Quote
  #316  
Old 02-18-2019, 12:16 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,692
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
Remember the old tascam 4 track or if you could afford the 8 track version both in tape cassette format
My buddy had one of those Tascam 4-track cassette recorders. We did our first couple of recording projects for class on it. Then when I bought an MBox and Protools LE the next semester it was like the gates of Heaven had opened up and we quite thinking that analog tape recording was anything. That was back in aught 03-04.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 02-18-2019, 02:04 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 93
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Anyone that has experience with the only viable affordable option being a 4 track cassette, really appreciates everything we have today!!!!

Nothing like bouncing, and then bouncing again, and again, and again, until the hiss was so bad you wanted to start over, and that's exactly what you had to do, start over.....

I recently bought a used 4 Track so I could import all my old 4-track recordings into protools.
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 02-18-2019, 04:25 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,199
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsexton View Post
None!

This has to be the biggest money grab "feature" yet...
incorrect, logic is 255 audio tracks
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 02-22-2019, 04:58 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,199
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
The angst is this. Opening up additional voices isn't something that costs Avid a penny. Every other DAW in existence has opened up close to a thousand tracks. It just feels like such a money grab. Also, define 'most of us'. These days I wouldn't be surprised if the Post market comprised a lot larger segment than you think, as a lot of music people may well have moved off to Nuendo, Logic, Reaper, etc... but those of us in post-production sound are still very much tied to ProTools whether we like it or not.

It feels to me like opening up voices to make ProTools simply compare to other DAWs isn't a 'feature' that I should be expected to pay for. I just paid $399 for a year of subscription and honestly the ONLY thing I even think I got for that was to able to search the plugins. Worth $400? yeah, no.

You know how Avid could make money? MPGA (Make Protools Great Again). Maybe we should make hats. Put in the features the people have been asking for for TWENTY YEARS. Make it stable. Make it so randomly my entire audio engine doesn't randomly assign all channels to various outputs, sometimes summing everything to the left channel, sometimes it's a grab bag. Make the CPU spikes stop. Folder tracks, marker improvements, folders in the region list...

Make it so people WANT to come to ProTools instead of constantly threatening to flee to the nearest other DAW. You make money when people WANT to use your software, not when they have to.
as i have said before.. not logic.. so not ever other daw i history.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 02-22-2019, 11:02 AM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 601
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
You know how Avid could make money? MPGA (Make Protools Great Again). Maybe we should make hats. Put in the features the people have been asking for for TWENTY YEARS. Make it stable. Make it so randomly my entire audio engine doesn't randomly assign all channels to various outputs, sometimes summing everything to the left channel, sometimes it's a grab bag. Make the CPU spikes stop. Folder tracks, marker improvements, folders in the region list...


So we're nearly 2 months into 2019 and still using a product labeled 2018. Why do I pay yearly again? Anyone?
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Sierra PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 features for pro tools vanilla ? cmbourget Pro Tools 2018 29 03-04-2019 03:00 PM
Namm 2019 jeffro General Discussion 2 01-26-2019 10:22 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com