Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-10-2014, 08:59 PM

Default Newly imported or recorded audio playback problems - Pro Tools 8.04 [RESOLVED]

Hi, I have been using Pro Tools for many years and not had a problem like this before until now! I have searched the net but not found anybody that has suffered from this before either, maybe you can help (I'm using pro tools 8.04 with an mbox 2 and a 2011 imac, and have been for some time):

I was recently working on a large session using 48khz audio AIFS, and at one stage I dragged from my browser a couple of 44.1 mp3s - something seemed to have gone wrong in their conversion as despite being able to see their waveforms, playing them would bizarrely not output any sound, or register in the track meter. The regions were located on tracks with other audible files, and no muting, automated volume or output routing was applied that would have prevented me from hearing the file. Ever since this happened ANY imported or newly recorded audio has given me issues when attempting to play it back, in ANY session - the process has somehow stopped working altogether!

All audio from existing sessions still plays just fine, but any newly introduced audio, either freshly recorded or Imported is problematic. Imported audio, depending on sample rate and possibly filetype, either makes no sound at all, bizarrely only plays quietly in one channel, or, more often than not will result in a hideous distortion sound. I bounced a chunk of it down so you can hear what it sounds like, but I warn you to turn down your speakers right down first, this is nasty!!!: https://www.mediafire.com/?ghwx38xm0c2ckgv