Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2009, 12:10 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 932
Default Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken?

I know about a $25 fee, but need some more information. My old iLok broke a few months ago, and I never RMA'ed it or sent it in. I don't want to go to the hassle and don't mind paying the $25 fee for the transfer, but do I need to have my old iLok present to transfer my licenses to a new iLok, or will the payment of $25 deactivate the licenses on my old iLok and only make it work on my new iLok?

I purchased STRUCTURE LE and HYBRID a few months back (actually close to a year back) and would now like to use them, but do NOT want to wait a month to have my stuff RMA'ed, sent elsewhere and then back.

Thanks in advance for your contributions to this thread!
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2009, 03:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,866
Default Re: Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken?

This is really a question for the iLok website. I suspect that if you make arrangements with them, you could mail in your old and new iLoks and they would verify the old one as kaput and re-assign your authorizations to the new one(and maybe charge something for doing so). The $25 transfer fee is for selling authorizations to another person so I don't know how/if it applies in your case. Contact iLok and let us know what happens.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2009, 03:24 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,963
Default Re: Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken?

You can purchase Zero Downtime coverage form iLok and receive the transfers to your new ilok much faster. Sign in and go to Zero Downtime.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2009, 03:45 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 932
Default Re: Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken?

Sorry, posted in the wrong thread. Thanks for the info!!!
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2009, 10:34 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,662
Default Re: Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
You can purchase Zero Downtime coverage form iLok and receive the transfers to your new ilok much faster. Sign in and go to Zero Downtime.
Yeah thats right, you can PAY THEM so you have access to the licenses you already OWN! All the info is on the Ilok site of what to do if your iLok breaks, you are subject to a number of charges ($$$) then they get to decide if you really do own what you paid for, and if they dont think so, they lock you out forever and claim no liability. You will need to email or call them and try to "sweet talk" them into getting you a new one. Isnt Ilok great!

P.S. they never did do anything to fix my sync problem i posted about a few weeks ago. They basically said "Go buy another pc to sync with" that was their solution! I love ilok.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2009, 04:51 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken?

No, you can't move licenses from a broken iLok to a new iLok. End of that story.
The iLok you're moving licenses FROM has to be sync'd to your account, as does the iLok you're moving them TO.
You'll have to send the broken iLok to them, and they'll place the licenses back in your account, or onto a new iLok, and send the new one back.
The $25 fee has nothing to do with moving licenses from iLok to iLok within your own account.
That's a per license fee for transferring to another person's account.
The sad news is that their will be downtime between now and whenever they get your situation straightened out. So, better to sent it ASAP
I personally have no problem with paying the $30/year zero downtime.
I have 100 licenses on my iLok, and $.30 insurance per asset per year makes sense to me.
Thankfully, I haven't had an iLok issue in the 8 years I've used it.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to transfer iLok licenses from old to new iLok mschaeffer General Discussion 3 08-16-2013 06:55 PM
iLOK broken, transfer license to good iLok question Jay Terrien Windows 12 09-18-2012 06:12 PM
[HELP] Can't Transfer ProTools10 Licence to My iLok (unDetect iLok) :( nmstudio Windows 5 10-25-2011 04:10 AM
how to transfer ilok registration with no ilok... AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-02-2010 10:54 AM
Transfer iLok auth. from old iLok to new 003 factory iLok? lamp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2007 08:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com