Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:43 AM
Jeremy Bentley Jeremy Bentley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Default Fxpansion GURU with Pro Tools 7.4

Hello everyone.

For years I have used Pro Tools for recording bands, both live and in the studio, using traditional "real-time" recording methods (i.e. microphones picking up sounds, or direct input of instruments using 1/4" connections).

It is only recently that I thought I might try my hand at Virtual Instruments (for creating music in my home studio), but I have to tell you, having pretty much NO midi background, It is certainly confusing as heck to me.

I recently obtained Fxpansion GURU, and have read through its manual and can use it as a standalone program. The problem is, I would like to use it with Pro Tools, and really can't figure out how to make that happen.

Is there anyone out there that can help this Virtual Instrument Noob with some tips on using Fxpansion GURU inside of Pro Tools? Even if someone knows of a really great tutorial out there. I have looked high and low, and have really found nothing.

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

Sincerely,
Jeremy Bentley
MR.STUDIO

P.S. I used Pro Tools LE 7.4 with an MBox 2, running on a PC. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:25 PM
Angus_FX Angus_FX is offline
FXpansion Audio
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 398
Default

You'd need to load GURU as an RTAS plug-in on an instrument track. Make sure you have registered your GURU and downloaded the v1.5.12 update too.
__________________
Angus F. Hewlett, CEO
FXpansion Audio - http://www.fxpansion.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guru and Pro Tools 7 David Penick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-07-2006 02:51 AM
FYI - FXpansion GURU demo & tutorials online Angus_FX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-09-2005 10:01 AM
GRM Tools ST with FXpansion VST to RTAS adapter schurer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-22-2005 06:01 AM
looking for an 001 guru bigtree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-26-2001 01:55 AM
Pro Tools Guru needed in Vancouver B.C. Craig iSPY Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-18-1999 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com