Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2012, 11:14 AM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 190
Default Import tracks and move them to an existing track

how can I import tracks and move them to an existing track without lossing the volume automation of the existing track? lets say I move a vocal from another older session into my mix session and I dont want to loose the automation I already did to my vocals.. is that something I can do in the prefs?
thx for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2012, 11:21 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Import tracks and move them to an existing track

Turn off "Automation Follows Edit" under Options.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2012, 11:42 AM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Import tracks and move them to an existing track

You can do it by importing session data FILE/IMPORT/SESSION DATA (or just drag the session that has the audio file in it to a new/existing session- I mean drag the .ptx session file into your edit window)

A window pops up that allows you to select what track(s) to import and at the botton there is an option called "Track Data to Import" in that drop down menu you can choose "Clips and Media" and "Import-Overlay new on Existing Playlist"and it will simply place the audio file into whatever track you tell it to go to and the track will still have its automation..

KMcK has the key!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble record armed track jamming to playing existing tracks? Gravy macOS 5 11-29-2011 02:58 AM
PT adds panning data when I import an OMF file then move the region to a new track Panacci 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-28-2009 07:22 PM
Import SFX directly to existing track location? Headmxr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-04-2007 09:54 AM
Is there a shortcut for adding or deleting tracks from existing track groups? melodymanpop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-13-2001 11:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com