Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2009, 01:13 AM
JoyMODE101 JoyMODE101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 208
Default GUID or Master Boot Record?

hey everyone

i have my external hd formatted as master boot record and is works fine on intel macs, ppc's, and windows (vista)

i'm going to reformat my actual macbook pro's hd with leopard,
and i know that the default is GUID, but what would happen if i formatted
it as Master Boot Record?

would it work?
and... if it does work, is there a benefit to using that scheme instead of GUID??

thanks everyone
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2009, 04:13 AM
systemexclusive systemexclusive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kiev, UA
Posts: 169
Default Re: GUID or Master Boot Record?

Quote:
... and i know that the default is GUID, but what would happen if i formatted it as Master Boot Record?
It is just a partition table, just 64 LBA. Don't waste your time .
On my side internal drive have a GUID partition table, all external drives has Master Boot Record partition table (because they can be plugged into other system such as PC)...
__________________
macpro 2.6ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.6.1, macbookpro 2.5ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.5.8
mbox2pro, mbox2micro, emu1616, protools8le, reaper, logic express, axiompro49, padkontrol, rode nt2-a, lexicon mx300, uad2laptop
r3, microQ, Albino3, impOSCar, Structure
m1active 520 & sub gw s750, deq230, cx2310
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2009, 03:41 PM
JoyMODE101 JoyMODE101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 208
Default Re: GUID or Master Boot Record?

Quote:
Originally Posted by systemexclusive View Post
It is just a partition table, just 64 LBA. Don't waste your time
thanx system

but, what's 64 LBA for?
any good info on it?

i googled it and just got too much [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] lol
how does it pertain to intel macs?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2009, 04:23 PM
jhamrick jhamrick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 153
Default Re: GUID or Master Boot Record?

Master Boot Record is AKA FAT32, which is a PC format that the Mac can also read. Most combo drives (PC and Mac Compatible) use Fat32 file system. There is only one gotcha with FAT32 and that is you can't copy, to the drive, a file that is larger than 4GB - it's a limitation of the file system. Not usually an issue until you get into doing Video. Also, you will run into this limitation if you want to create a disk image(backup) of your hard drive (using apple disk utility). The image file will be too large to copy to FAT32. And last but not least, I would not recommend partitioning your internal Mac volume using FAT32, leave it GUID and formatted as Mac OS Extended or Mac OS Extended(Journaled) - There is no 4GB file limit with these formats.

-Hope that makes sense.
__________________
-Jesse
___________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2009, 04:15 AM
systemexclusive systemexclusive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kiev, UA
Posts: 169
Default Re: GUID or Master Boot Record?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhamrick View Post
..Master Boot Record is AKA FAT32...
Master Boot Record - is a way to declare partitions on drive.
Master Boot Record has no any file-size limitations. It is lets say "Header" of hard drive, but it is not affect concrete file of directory.

You can see MBR or GUID by yourself http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/30217/ibored or http://apps.tempel.org/iBored/ and compare what you see to article from Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Master_boot_record
__________________
macpro 2.6ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.6.1, macbookpro 2.5ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.5.8
mbox2pro, mbox2micro, emu1616, protools8le, reaper, logic express, axiompro49, padkontrol, rode nt2-a, lexicon mx300, uad2laptop
r3, microQ, Albino3, impOSCar, Structure
m1active 520 & sub gw s750, deq230, cx2310
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2009, 08:47 AM
jhamrick jhamrick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 153
Default Re: GUID or Master Boot Record?

I stand corrected my definition is not accurate. With that being said my point is the same, there is a limitation with FAT32 (file system) that doesn't allow you to copy, to the drive, files larger than 4GB in size. Most external drives you purchase that are both PC and Mac compatible use an MBR partition table and a FAT32 formatted file system.

In fact i would be curious if you could even create a MBR partition table and format the drive Mac OS Extended, I have not tried nor would I waste my time. My initial thought would be no.
__________________
-Jesse
___________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2009, 11:10 AM
systemexclusive systemexclusive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kiev, UA
Posts: 169
Default Re: GUID or Master Boot Record?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhamrick View Post
... In fact i would be curious if you could even create a MBR partition table and format the drive Mac OS Extended, I have not tried nor would I waste my time. My initial thought would be no.
Agree. GUID partition scheme used by default on Mac.
I have Mac OSX Extended partition under MBR partition table. But it is an exception from rules: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2674/...ea83c3bd_o.png
__________________
macpro 2.6ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.6.1, macbookpro 2.5ghz, 4gb ram, osx 10.5.8
mbox2pro, mbox2micro, emu1616, protools8le, reaper, logic express, axiompro49, padkontrol, rode nt2-a, lexicon mx300, uad2laptop
r3, microQ, Albino3, impOSCar, Structure
m1active 520 & sub gw s750, deq230, cx2310
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2011, 06:29 AM
kennai kennai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: japan
Posts: 33
Default Re: GUID or Master Boot Record?

Hello all. I have recently carbon copy cloned and made bootable a new SATA drive. My source disk was GUID, and now I see that my clone is APM ( apple Partition Map). When I go to open PTs on the clone, I get a screen that says PTs quit unexpectedly, and I have the option to send the info to Avid. All of my other drives are GUID. My question is , why did my "clone" drive become an APM partitioned drive? Is there a preference somewhere in Carbon Copy Cloner that I missed?
Thanks in advance,
Kenneth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master Record Button Theodore Theodore ICON & C|24 2 10-23-2009 04:04 PM
Apple Partition, Master Boot, GUID?????? whitelabellt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-01-2009 12:34 AM
GUID vs APM? reichman Storage Subsystems 3 03-20-2009 06:24 AM
Master Record button doesn't record arm MIDI tracks? Borg ICON & C|24 1 10-29-2007 07:39 AM
How to record when picture is master? bigbadhenchman Post - Surround - Video 10 09-07-2006 10:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com