Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2015, 06:44 PM
Adupr Adupr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 60
Default Pro tools 12hd questions?? Transfer of ownership and upgrading??

Hey guys, so might be some dumb questions but have to ask since I'm running out of time.

If I do the 12hd upgrade, do I have to install instantly or can I keep running 10hd until I'm done with a couple projects (I know the take your old ilok licenses).

Does my year start when I purchase or when I activate/download 12?

What happens if I decide to sell my hd native card down the line, does pro tools 12 go with it or am I out the software and it doesn't transfer.

Is 12 been pretty stable? Running a 6 core Mac Pro 3.33 with 10.8.5

Thanks!

Last edited by Adupr; 12-22-2015 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2015, 06:50 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

You can co-install 12 with 10. But be real careful about changing anything while you're in the middle of a project. In fact, don't.
12.3 HD on Win 7 has been fantastic here.
I think your year starts at date of purchase, but I could be mistaken.m
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2015, 06:58 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

It's a mixed bag. If you upgrade, my understanding is that time starts ticking when you activate the software. Not sure what happens if you sell your hardware. I know that your hardware will be worth LESS if you keep the HD license. They do want to see the hardware if you are to keep HD software. But do you need it? It seems like 5.1 is the main feature these days...

12 has it's issues. I think 10 was a great version. If you don't need 64 bit. And if the VI's are not important. If you are using VEPro then that's a good thing, too for woking in 10.

I bought the software, because I'm in Pro Tools in a big way. I make money from it. I do have my eyes on the horizon and I do own Logic Pro X.

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2015, 10:18 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

Look at it this way, you can upgrade, or you can buy yourself a 500 series mic pre-.

The mic pre-would be a better investment.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2015, 11:59 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adupr View Post
Hey guys, so might be some dumb questions but have to ask since I'm running out of time.

If I do the 12hd upgrade, do I have to install instantly or can I keep running 10hd until I'm done with a couple projects (I know the take your old ilok licenses).

Does my year start when I purchase or when I activate/download 12?

What happens if I decide to sell my hd native card down the line, does pro tools 12 go with it or am I out the software and it doesn't transfer.

Is 12 been pretty stable? Running a 6 core Mac Pro 3.33 with 10.8.5

Thanks!
As you will get PT12, 11 and 10 HD with the upgrade you of course can finish your projects. You can either install only PT10HD on your system again or,
like mentioned by others before, you can co-install 10 and 12 HD on your system. Actually you will get one combi-license for PT12, 11 and 10HD with the
upgrade but you will receive separate installers of all 3 versions in your Avid account. So it will be up to you which version to download, install and run finally.

However you cannot "save time" as the year will be begin with the moment of activating your upgrade. Important to know, your software license for 12/11/10
will never expire as this will be a perpetual license you will own (for good)!
What will expire after this year will only be the update/upgrade-service (plan).
Fact is that theoretically you can even skip the update/upgrade plan after that year if you will not want to pay another annual fee. Your Pro Tools software will
continue to work for good without any limitations (as you actually own it). You just won´t receive updates/upgrades anymore.

As mentioned by the others already you can sell your cards separately but it will be worth less of course. The good thing for you personally will be that PT12HD
software now very well works with any native computer/interface system as well. Most of the plugins formerly available exclusively on HD DSP systems are available
and working on native computer/recording systems as well nowadays, incl. HEAT for example.

But again, as you will get all 3 versions of Pro Tools HD with the upgrade, 12, 11 and 10HD, you will not run into issues regarding your current productions.
You just can use PT10HD again as long as you need it and use PT12HD anytime in the future. The software (license for all 3 versions) you will own, so there will be
no expiration date for that. It´s only the update/upgrade plan which will expire after 1 year and which will have to be renewed to receive further updates.

Me personally have had no issues running PT12HD on a native system so far. Can´t complain at all. Anyway it seems to be kinda system dependent obviously.

If you ever consider using PT12+ in the future let me recommend to take advantage of the upgrade now because after 31st Dec 2015 it will be much more difficult
and a lot more expensive to get PT12HD (PT13HD etc) anyway.
Even if you keep using PT10HD for a certain amount of time you will have PT12HD in your account to download and use whenever you will be interested in it.
As mentioned before you will own it for good, your license never will expire.

Me personally think you never will get PT12 (and even future versions of it-given you pay for the upgrade plan in the future as well) for less money. Probably will be
much more expensive and much more complicated later.


The best of success to you whatever you decide to do finally.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2015, 04:31 AM
Adupr Adupr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

Thanks guys.

I was just planning on buying because the price is gonna go up. I don't want to install anything until my current projects are done tho.

As far as selling, I maybe miscommunication. I was asking if I can sell the software with my native card if I decide to leave pro tools (tired of paying so much). Was just wondering if the software transfers or not?

How is 12 running for people on a Mac and what OS is everyone recommending?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2015, 06:14 AM
Adupr Adupr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

Anyone have input as far as my last couple questions.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2015, 07:41 AM
TAMBOR TAMBOR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adupr View Post
Thanks guys.

I was just planning on buying because the price is gonna go up. I don't want to install anything until my current projects are done tho.

As far as selling, I maybe miscommunication. I was asking if I can sell the software with my native card if I decide to leave pro tools (tired of paying so much). Was just wondering if the software transfers or not?

How is 12 running for people on a Mac and what OS is everyone recommending?

Thanks again
Last time I looked at AVID's license transfer info, it said that any software under the support/upgrade plan is non-transferable. I called the licensing department a couple weeks ago and they said the only way to transfer PT 12 is to sell your entire account.

PT 10 and 11 are transferable if they are not covered by the support/update plan.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2015, 09:44 PM
Adupr Adupr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

Are u serious!!!!!????

So I have to pay $599 for an upgrade of software that I can never sell???

Makes absolutely no sense to me. The value of my HD native card just takes a dump huh. I can see why so many complain about Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-19-2015, 10:25 PM
Skytouch Skytouch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 108
Default Re: Pro tools 12hd upgrade questions??

This unfortunately is correct, and the reason why my HD Omni system stops at 11HD. I will look into possibly running 12 Vanilla and beyond on a separate 3rd-party interface.

After some back-and-forth with Avid, I received confirmation from their Customer Care team that upgrading the software component of a full HD Omni + PCIe system to 12HD effectively un-binds the software from the system. Because the updated software is not transferrable, it becomes basically impossible to sell the hardware to anyone not having access to a standalone legacy copy of HD software (e.g. from the CPTK days).

It makes no sense for Avid to treat HD software as anything but a component of a full system. A PT11HD-to-PT12HD software update should update the entire system from a licensing standpoint, and that system should remain sellable / transferrable.

Sky
__________________
(Opinions are my own, etc.)

Mac Pro 6-Core 3.33, 24 GB RAM, AVID HD Native, Omni I/O, Pro Tools 12.6.1, OSX 10.11.6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12HD upgrade / Support Plan last activation date? bad jitter Pro Tools 12 2 12-08-2015 12:05 PM
Need help with upgrade decision from 11HD to 12HD TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 7 11-27-2015 10:46 PM
Help with 12hd upgrade plan from perpetual licence 10/11/12 arche3 Licensing & Accounts 4 10-07-2015 04:47 PM
Trying to purchase 12HD Upgrade ... Error 206 JSR Pro Tools 12 3 05-06-2015 06:33 PM
Cut off date for free 12HD upgrade? michael c Pro Tools 12 6 01-29-2015 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com