Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 06-11-2009, 08:41 AM

Default Question on proper levels

Just wanted to know, since I'm new to this, where a track input level should be (idealy) when setting up say drum mics and maybe DI guitars and also where the master fader level should be on a final mix. Obviously I know things can't be clipping etc but I don't know what the ideal is.

Thanks
Old 06-11-2009, 09:38 AM

Default Re: Question on proper levels

If I'm tracking things one at a time, I usually start out with drums. Being that they will have the most attack and loudest transients (for the most part, but not always), I usually use this is a basis for my other track volumes to work around. I usually try and get the highest parts of my drums to be at least -5dB from clipping. I usually shoot for more like -10dB or more. I have heard that lots of guys on here say they get better quality audio out of PT when the levels are more relaxed. I've never found a solid number that everyone agrees with. Everyone has a different opinion, but keeping my loudest parts around -10db is what I shoot for on a regular basis. Hope I don't get chewed out for being wrong about this.

As far as Mastering and the loudest parts, you basically got it right. NO CLIPPING! I usually use a Mastering limiter across my master fader, even when recording just so I don't have to hear a clip, should one come up. The TRacks Limiter is my Plug of choice for keeping the levels from clipping during the tracking stages. I end up using the Waves L2 later when Mixing and Mastering, but it creates a delay problem, and the TRacks does not, so I don't use the L2 during tracking. I also keep my Master Fader at -.02 dB at all times, just to give myself a little room.