Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2016, 05:38 AM
hbadger30 hbadger30 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London
Posts: 15
Default "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

Hi there,

I'm working with a 640 × 360, 23.98 FPS Quicktime .mov file, viewing natively in ProTools 12.4 on an HDX / HD Omni system. System spec is a Macbook Pro running OSX 10.8.5, 16Gb RAM, 2.6 i7 processor.

I don't work with video a lot but I'm running into a re-occuring crash/problem and I wondered if anyone had a solution?

All I seem to be doing is starting and stopping audio and opening and closing the video window, just working, until evenutally I get the error message "The avid video engine was unable to stop". The video then hangs on a frame and the session becomes unresponsive and I can't seem to get the video going again. At the moment I'm quitting Tools and then opening it again and that seems to sort it out. Anyone had the same issue?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2016, 05:46 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

What codec has the video? PT doesn't like h264 very much.
You should try using ProRes, DNxHD or Photo-JPEG. Those are proven to work pretty well.
The "new" video engine is still buggy, though.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2016, 08:53 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

I think it's the video satellite link connecting the AVE to PT.
It is often related to drives. People who put the video on an SSD seem to have less issues. Is your video on your MBP internal drive?
I get this occasionally even with my super reliable AJA IOXT with PT 12.4 HDX.
Sometimes, disabling the video track blue button (or shift apple J) can help. Let the AVE gets its knickers out of a twist, then carry on.

ps Photojpeg is actively discouraged by Avid (read the docs)
H264 actually works well but can lag the processor, depends on how many frames are key frames and how fast your processor is etc.
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2016, 10:02 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,242
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
I think it's the video satellite link connecting the AVE to PT.
It is often related to drives. People who put the video on an SSD seem to have
I run 2 systems that are mirrored, literally.
I cloned the hard drive.

One Mac drives a Media Composer PC machine.
That one has the video engine warnings all the time.

The other MAC just plays DNXHD36 mxf video from a separate internal drive, and get no issues.

Hmmm!!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2016, 11:14 AM
hbadger30 hbadger30 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London
Posts: 15
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

Thanks for replying to this thread!

The Codec is H264 and is being read from an internal rotational HD (7200rpm) on the MBP. I'll try putting it on my system drive as that's a SSD to see if it makes a difference. The video file is quite short - is there anyway to put it in RAM……….kind of like audio in the disk playback cache in PT's playback engine?

Mike, I tried toggling the blue button, but once I've had the error message once PT doesn't want to know. It just waits a while and then flags the same error message.

So judging by the other responses I'm not the only one out there experiencing issues? I just wanted to check it wasn't user error really!

Thanks all for sheading a bit of light on the subject for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2016, 07:52 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,242
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbadger30 View Post
Thanks for replying to this thread!

The Codec is H264 .

Thats an issue right there.

Takes too much resources to decompress H264.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...r-Pro-Tools-11
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2016, 11:10 AM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 407
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

+1 this happens to me as well, usually when I select a small region and it gets looped
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.1
...........
Apollo X8 and Apollo X6 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2016, 01:49 PM
yop22 yop22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 90
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

The only workaround I've found so far is to enable a post-roll so that it prevents from accidentally playing a very small selection.
I know it isn't very elegant but it saves time...
Also, be sure to convert to DnxHD.
__________________
Win 7 pro 64, X99-UD4, i7 5820k@3.3GHz, 32GB RAM.
Pro Tools HD native 12.8.0, S3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2016, 01:50 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

If I am going to loop, I just deactivate the video track
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2016, 04:49 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 111
Default Re: "The avid video engine was unable to stop" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
If I am going to loop, I just deactivate the video track
A very quick command+shift+J whenever I'm looping short sections of dialog toggles video on- / off-line and keeps the AVE happy.
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Connecting to Avid Video Engine" postmike Pro Tools 12 1 12-15-2015 07:13 PM
"Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" error mrhood Post - Surround - Video 0 07-25-2013 02:28 AM
Can't import video "Avid engine not installed"??? garnoil Post - Surround - Video 9 10-08-2012 05:45 PM
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 10:10 AM
"Avid Video Engine Not Installed" trondned Post - Surround - Video 9 09-17-2009 03:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com