Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2017, 06:32 AM
bucha bucha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Paris France
Posts: 54
Default Should I switch off my S6 every day ?

Hey guys,


So I think it's pretty much the same for everyone down here : my S6 is running 10 hours a day, 6 days a week.
My question is quite simple, should I turn off the MTM every evening ?
Should i turn off all my modules too ?

What do you recommend ?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2017, 04:27 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 758
Default Re: Should I switch off my S6 every day ?

Greetings,

It should not be necessary to fully shutdown your S6 surface every evening. If you are going to keep it on - make sure the preferences for the sensors are set appropriately such that the console automatically dims itself when it is not being used. Obviously if you have a specific issue we would recommend at least rebooting if not fully shutting down (killing the mains).


best.



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2017, 10:16 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Should I switch off my S6 every day ?

Obviously not an S6, but my D Command has been powered up for 11 years.

Many argue that it's the powering up/down combined with the expansion/contraction of heating/cooling cycles that kills gear.

When do lightbulbs always go out?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2017, 07:04 AM
bucha bucha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Paris France
Posts: 54
Default Re: Should I switch off my S6 every day ?

Hey guys,

I was just asking that because of the "Windows PC" MTM.
It sometimes better to shut down and restart a PC every day ;-).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2017, 10:03 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,194
Default Re: Should I switch off my S6 every day ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucha View Post
Hey guys,

I was just asking that because of the "Windows PC" MTM.
It sometimes better to shut down and restart a PC every day ;-).
Having to restart a "Windows PC" is more down to what (crappy) software it's running, not Windows itself ;-) Also the MTM is Embedded Windows so only has the MTM App on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi switch or USB switch to punch in Pro Tools shamanrock Pro Tools 11 9 08-25-2017 09:56 PM
External talkback mic/switch/cuelight switch Pete Gates Post - Surround - Video 3 03-16-2011 02:53 AM
KVM switch neuromillion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-17-2011 11:32 AM
3Gb switch Fastermouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-11-2009 08:28 PM
Switch Mac Mbox to Windows - and then switch back bluesigns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-07-2004 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com