Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2016, 05:26 PM
Cransoon Cransoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2
Default Licensing and Version Compatibility Questions

I know this topic straddles several forum categories, so I figured this might be the best place to post, as they're pre-purchase questions, and I'm new to the forums.

To give a little background on me, I'm an audio student in Chicago. I want to purchase a subscription to Pro Tools in order to work on school projects from home, and so I won't be tied down to the school workstations in the event that they're being used, or otherwise unavailable. Before I decide to buy the subscription, I have a couple of quick questions.

My first question is in regards to licensing. I'm aware that, in addition to the purchase of the software itself, you need to purchase an iLok key to authorize Pro Tools on different computers. One thing I'm not clear about is whether this is platform specific. I have a PC as my desktop, and a Macbook as my laptop. If I authorized Pro Tools on my PC, would I run into any trouble trying to carry that authorization to my laptop, based on the fact that they're running different operating systems, and therefor different versions of Pro Tools? Apologies if the answer feels extremely obvious, but I haven't found any specifics about this on the Avid website.

My second question is about version compatibility. The workstations at my school are currently running Pro Tools 10, and the subscription options for students are for Pro Tools 12. Are there any major feature differences that would cause compatibility issues when carrying a project between the two versions?

Thanks,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2016, 05:50 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Licensing and Version Compatibility Questions

12 has some things that 10 doesn't, don't use VCAs at home an you should be OK

iLok is not platform specific, you can move between Windows and Mac easily
Sessions can be moved relative easily between the 2 platforms you need to remember what drive formats work with what OS and Pro Tools
you need to make sure that your computers meet Pro Tools minimum requirements, except, RAM 8 GB min
Most people use MacBook Pros, not sure if a MacBook will work well
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2016, 09:34 PM
Cransoon Cransoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2
Default Re: Licensing and Version Compatibility Questions

Apologies, I always forget that non-Pro Macbooks exist, because I see them so infrequently. Mine is actually a Macbook Pro with 16GB of RAM, so hopefully I shouldn't have any issues. Thanks for the quick response!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2016, 07:19 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,775
Default Re: Licensing and Version Compatibility Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cransoon View Post
Apologies, I always forget that non-Pro Macbooks exist, because I see them so infrequently. Mine is actually a Macbook Pro with 16GB of RAM, so hopefully I shouldn't have any issues. Thanks for the quick response!
One issue you might have is if your MBP has USB3 ports. There have been numerous postings here and elsewheres that people have had problems getting their iLok2 recognized when connected to USB3 ports. The usual remedy is to get a powered USB2 hub and plug the iLok into that and the hub into the computer.

Something else to keep in mind is you're going to want to have an separate non-green external drive for PT to record to. 7200 rpm minimum speed or an ssd. You never want to record to the system drive unless it's a large enough ssd.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compatibility , HD speed, version grateful 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-13-2010 12:27 PM
Version compatibility between MAC and PC lemans Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 09-01-2010 01:49 PM
Structure, version compatibility jimlongo Virtual Instruments 2 01-13-2010 02:51 PM
OSX Version/Compatibility Joel Cage Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-14-2005 08:16 AM
OSX PT Version Compatibility Issues christopherlennon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-18-2004 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com