Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2012, 03:39 PM
CNSound CNSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2
Exclamation Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing

Hello DUC

So I'm using a template for sound design. The FX (vocal in this instance) track is being output to an AUX 3-4 (bus3-4) and AUX (bus3-4) is being output to AUX 1-2 (bus1-2). AUX 1-2 (bus1-2) is being output to Analog 1-2 (my MBOX2 Mini and 2.1 Monitor system.

The FX Track is using an AUX send. The AUX Send is output to SEND 9-10 (bus 9-10). SEND 9-10 (bus9-10) is being output to AUX 1-2 (bus-1-2).

My current project is delivering processed voices and I'm encountering approximately a 256 sample delay between the Send tracks and the FX track.
Delay Compensation is on and I have trouble shot with it off.

Can someone please explain to me why this is happening? I understand that a delay is 8 samples for an Aux but isn't PT Delay Compensation supposed to fix that?

How can I use my template and run sample accurate productions?

Where is all this delay coming from?
It is creating an unintentional echo (as you would guess).
*Note there are no plugins at all on any of these tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2012, 12:10 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,673
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing

Interesting....I am kind of just signing on to this so i can hear the answer.....

But since i am here....you must have a good reason to be pushing the tracks thru all the aux's right? I mean if you don't have any plugins you must be using some external hardware right?

If i run voice i will run sends off the audio channel to 3 aux's for vocal processing and then run those aux's and the Audio track (vocal in this case) all to output to a stem (aux input) and then that stem dumps it to my main monitor outs......

But what you are sayin is that your seeing delay that is not being compensated for on the waveform? (and your right we shouldn't)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bypass Delay Compensation on individual audio tracks? holyspicoli macOS 3 10-19-2013 03:32 AM
How do I stop Delay Compensation from changing tracks? normbias macOS 0 04-19-2012 10:54 AM
Delay compensation and Aux Tracks Terry Wetzel Windows 10 04-08-2012 08:19 AM
Delay compensation- choice of 'Medium delay'? dtmprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-06-2010 12:00 AM
Delay compensation for internal bussing? whosmatt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 07-23-2007 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com