Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2004, 12:04 PM
Notefarm Notefarm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ca, USA
Posts: 442
Default Changing Pitch

Hi there,

I have a couple of stero tracks that are in the wrong key for the singer. I need to move them down a half step, It is easy enough with the digi plug- in, but , and here is the rub, the bass, sounds like it is under water.

Any ideas how I can get a little nicer results, with out having to buy "pitch 'n time". I know I must be doing something wrong.

Thanks,
Peace and Good Mixes To All,

NoteFarm
__________________
What games shall we play today?
http://www.notefarm.net/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2004, 12:50 PM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: Changing Pitch

uncheck the time compression/expansion. then you can have it perfect pitch but slow? OR make a sub mix with the bass , and anything else that messes up with pitch shift, and replace it later. of course you'll need the multitrack version.
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2004, 12:55 PM
Notefarm Notefarm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ca, USA
Posts: 442
Default Re: Changing Pitch

Thanks for the reply,

I also tryed to play wit the crossfade setting and set it to 200ms (the max) and that made a difference. Know I am confused. Could some one explain that one to me please.

Thanks
NoteFarm
__________________
What games shall we play today?
http://www.notefarm.net/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2004, 03:12 PM
yin7yang64 yin7yang64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Evanston, IL U. S. A.
Posts: 254
Default Re: Changing Pitch

On the Pitch Shift panel (or whatever it's called--I just quit Pro Tools for the day) I believe there's a slider that's marked Accuracy and Rhythm at the opposite ends. Sometimes I've had luck sliding that toward the Accuracy end when the initial Pitch Shift came out a bit dodgy. You could also experiment with shifting the vocalist. (James Brown used to do it all the time. And a lot of Motown tunes were purposefully pitched at the extreme end of the lead vocalist's range.) Actually, I'm thinking you could have your singer perform as much as she or he can with the track as is, and then record the difficult sections with the track a half step lower, then punch in the pitch shifted vocal lines at the key points. May work, may not. Sometimes you just have to try these things and see.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2004, 03:45 PM
Alex Rodriguez Alex Rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: some where in the US
Posts: 338
Default Re: Changing Pitch

Try Serato Pitch'N'Time. It's way much better than Pitch Shift from Digidesign
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB of RAM, OS 10.4.11, PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2004, 04:08 PM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Changing Pitch

"Try Serato Pitch'N'Time. It's way much better than Pitch Shift from Digidesign "


Use the demo it's fully functional for a while.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:54 PM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Changing Pitch

When I seen the thread, I was planning on jumping in to "save the day"......... But when I read you say, "with out having to buy "pitch 'n time"",,,,,,,, then I have nothing I can say... I am the pitch bendin', time stretchin' , key changin' NUT !!! And I went through a long time searching for a plug in that can do all that, AND NOT get that "underwater" sound to my music,,,,,well,,,, there were none,, EXCEPT Serato Pitch 'n Time, and Waves Transform Bundle,,,,, that is period.......

And Bender had the best suggestion, if you don't wanna buy it,,,, just download tha demo,,, and he is correct, it is fully functional.

You may get a LITTLE better results trying all this stuff everyone else is telling you to do with the "stock" digi time compression plug in,,,,,, but all in all, that thing IS DOO DOO,,,, compared to the 2 I mentioned above.
And despite its great repretation , I found "Speed" to suck as well, so don't buy that. I mean it didn't suck as bad as the digi one, but it was worse than Pitch&Time and the Waves Trans. Bundle..........

Hope this helps,,,,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:01 AM
Mr T Mr T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: Changing Pitch

Quote:
there were none,, EXCEPT Serato Pitch 'n Time, and Waves Transform Bundle,,,,, that is period.......
Speed by Waves Mechanics is as good as Pitch N Time and way cheaper.
__________________
Some music?... http://tmweb.free.fr
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2004, 09:31 AM
Dutchmuzik Dutchmuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Changing Pitch

Speed works fine, they all have their own strenghts depending on the material. Speed is the least expensive way to go and achieve what you want.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Pitch of MIDI RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 10 03-07-2013 09:07 PM
Changing the pitch of a stereo track Monty_python 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-13-2009 09:10 AM
changing tempo without changing pitch Sharabelle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2007 06:19 PM
Changing Pitch of incoming midi bubbiesdod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 10-18-2006 12:15 PM
Tempo change without changing pitch? Styles Bitchly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-05-2002 04:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com