Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-13-2019, 07:33 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 156
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

working simoultaniously with 13 music sessions (created in 2018) ... 50 tracks+ and many plugins.

With PT 2019 nothing's different and PT running seemlessly (High Sierra)
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-13-2019, 08:16 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 871
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Hdx 3. High Sierra. Magma chassis. Cheese grater. Perfect for me. Sorry you have issues. I even updated over existing install of protools.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-13-2019, 02:58 PM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 119
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Same here but but producing and writing sessions with atleast 20 VI instances and lots of plugins with some pretty CPU intensive and everything is great!

Mac Pro Trashcan 12core Sierra 10.12.6 w/PTU and 2 x Apollo X8P aswell as 2 Satellite Quads

Haven’t tried on our Mac Pro trashcans with Mojave yet but Sierra runs like a dream 24/7 here with heavy midi work and audio recording. 200-250 tracks at 88.2 ...

I really feel for those who have problems but my head is spinning as to why there are so many that it just works for ...
Just curious, on average how many VI instances were you able to get in 2018.12 before you started getting CPU issues? Are you able to get the 20 VI instances without using track freeze?
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, iMac Pro, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave), Logic Pro X, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, UAD Ultimate Bundle among others, Waves 11: Mercury, Abbey Road, Studio Classics, too many other plugins and VIs to name

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-13-2019, 03:10 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Rost View Post
Do you use Eucon devices? If so, be sure to read the whats new documents.
+1. The disappearing plug-in windows is part of some of the new options with Eucon. I'm trying to get used to it myself and I'm not sure how I feel about it yet.

Check page 7 on "What's New in EuControl" Doc.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-13-2019, 03:31 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,051
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
Just curious, on average how many VI instances were you able to get in 2018.12 before you started getting CPU issues? Are you able to get the 20 VI instances without using track freeze?
We never use track freeze or commit and we average 25 - 30 VI on every session. Done this for a long time and long before PT 2018 came out. We used HD10 and up with loads of VI all the time.

A selection of Synths we use daily:

NI Komplete 12 Ultimate Libraries
Kontakt many instances with guitars and popstrings
Reaktor with Super8 and TRK-1
Nexus2 many
Spire many
Massive
XLN Audio Addictive drums2
PhalanX with many effects on audio samples
Sylenth1
Dune3
Vengeance SOUND Avenger
XFER Serum
Vocal Synth2

And many more. I would say we use atleast 25 VI on these last songs for a big A-List US popstar.

THE 12 or so vintage hardware synths we have are always heavily used on midi tracks aswell so sesions top out at about 200-250 tracks on average.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-13-2019, 06:47 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,387
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSchroeder View Post
This is the most highly anticipated BUST I've seen since Y2K. Don't upgrade!

• plug-in windows that randomly open, sometimes change, close again, open again on their own.

• plug in windows that I *did* open deciding to vanish on their own.

• audio that isn't there playing from a track.

• audio that is there but muted (grayed out, i.e., command M) and still plays.

• massive digital glitch-out forcing a restart 5 or 6 times a day.

• MIDI notes disappearing.

Nope. I have work to do. I've stated before that I'm changing platforms, but I still need to squeeze another few months out of Pro Tools. I guess 2018.12 will take me to the end. Enjoy your extra tracks, everyone!
Are you using any controllers (keyboards and the like) that could potentially ben sending midi CC data that would send confusing commands to pro tools?
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-13-2019, 08:11 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 108
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
We never use track freeze or commit and we average 25 - 30 VI on every session. Done this for a long time and long before PT 2018 came out. We used HD10 and up with loads of VI all the time.

A selection of Synths we use daily:

NI Komplete 12 Ultimate Libraries
Kontakt many instances with guitars and popstrings
Reaktor with Super8 and TRK-1
Nexus2 many
Spire many
Massive
XLN Audio Addictive drums2
PhalanX with many effects on audio samples
Sylenth1
Dune3
Vengeance SOUND Avenger
XFER Serum
Vocal Synth2

And many more. I would say we use atleast 25 VI on these last songs for a big A-List US popstar.

THE 12 or so vintage hardware synths we have are always heavily used on midi tracks aswell so sesions top out at about 200-250 tracks on average.
I'm curious, how were you able to run that many VI's with the RAM limitation of PTHD10?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-13-2019, 08:26 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,449
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
I'm curious, how were you able to run that many VI's with the RAM limitation of PTHD10?
Lots of Surströmming.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-13-2019, 09:30 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 61
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

running ultimate on el cap 2012 mac pro 3.46ghz beast no problems here!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-13-2019, 09:40 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 742
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

I noticed the plugins windows coming and going, but it was just if track “1” had plugin “A” open last and track “2” had plugin “B” open last, when switching between the different tracks the corresponding last plugin window would open and selecting a track with no plugins would close any open plugin windows. Just a little something I noticed, not really dug deep into it.

Right now I’m trying to torture test the system. It’s been playing 38 tracks with 10 plugins each, 10 sends each and 10 auxes with reverbs on each, 49-57% CPU, playing a looped 4 min selection at 32 buffer for an hour and a half now with NO -9093 or -9173 errors (had a few -9093 early, made a few tweaks and cool now). Details later.

This is a new Z390/i9 9900/64 Gb Win 10 system, not listed in my sig.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.6.1 ready for prime time now? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 27 12-23-2016 11:24 AM
IS PT 11 ready for prime time ? bonzerboy Pro Tools 11 4 09-14-2013 06:55 PM
PT 10.0.1 NOT Ready for Prime Time tomcat Post - Surround - Video 65 05-26-2012 10:01 AM
SSD ready for prime time? flommer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-29-2009 12:26 AM
6.7 Ready for Prime Time¿¿¿ NuBus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-21-2004 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com