Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2007, 01:06 PM
Tommy Fobia Tommy Fobia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Default Midi test on MBox 2? How much global midi offset?

Hi, I was wondering if my Mbox2 can self test its own Midi latency, so I can set the Global Midi Offset correctly to compensate.

My old m-audio soundcard had the facility to test Midi latency by measuring the delay across a Midi cable between the 'Midi Out' and the 'Midi In' ports.

Can the Mbox do this?

If it can't, is there another way to monitor my midi latency to set the Global Midi Offset?

Thanks.

Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2007, 02:45 PM
Chri Chri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
Default Re: Midi test on MBox 2? How much global midi offs

Some days ago I gathered information about MIDI and Latency (and even worse: Latency Jitter). I found this tool called "Miditest" which I think is very useful.
You just have to connect your MIDI OUT to you MIDI IN and run the Program. It will send MIDI Events to the output and reveice the returned events from the MIDI IN. At the end of the test it will tell you the mean latency and jitter times.

I have successfully used the tool on my Soundblaster Audigy. I think the tool is for Windows only.

Here is a link: http://earthvegaconnection.com/evc/products/miditest/
Or just type "Miditest" into Google and it will be the first one in the result list.

If you did the test could you post your results here ? I am quite interested in it.

Regards,

Chri
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2007, 09:03 AM
Chri Chri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
Default Re: Midi test on MBox 2? How much global midi offs

Okay, since i got my own MBox2 now I can tell you the results I got.

OS: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Processor(s): AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2700+
Speed: 2171 MHz
Number: 1

MESSAGES Snd Rcv Snd+Rcv

< 1 ms: 31246 0 0
1 - 2 ms: 0 429 422
2 - 3 ms: 0 4205 4165
3 - 4 ms: 0 10878 10878
4 - 5 ms: 0 4149 4187
5 - 10 ms: 4 11589 11595
10 - 20 ms: 0 0 3
20 - 50 ms: 0 0 0
50 - 100 ms: 0 0 0
> 100 ms: 0 0 0

Message latency: 4.51 ms Total time: 184.023 sec
Message jitter: 1.49 ms
Message max deviation: 8.17 ms


For comparison: Using the MIDI I/O of my Audigy PCI Card I get

Message latency: 0.12 ms Total time: 93.299 sec
Message jitter: 0.14 ms
Message max deviation: 14.31 ms

Best wishes

Chri
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:10 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Midi test on MBox 2? How much global midi offs

Hi Chri

Just for interests sakes, MIDI Test of Mbox 2 Pro.








--------------------------------------------------------------------------
MidiTest Results
--------------------------------------------------------------------------



================ Info ================================================== ==

Date: 05 Mar 2007
Time: 19:54:10
AppVersion: 4.6.231
OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Processor(s): Dual Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 265
Speed: 1809 MHz
Number: 4
API: DirectMusic
Test type: Advanced
Use timestamp: yes
Errors: None



================ Tested Message Types ====================================

Note off: yes
Note on: yes
Key aftertouch: yes
Controller: yes
Program change: yes
Channel aftertouch: yes
Pitchbend: yes
System exclusive: yes
MIDI time code quarter frame: yes
Song position pointer: yes
Song select: yes
Tune request: yes
MIDI clock: yes
MIDI tick: no
Start: yes
Continue: yes
Stop: yes
Active sensing: yes
System reset: yes
System exclusive mixed with realtime messages: yes



================ Ports ================================================== =

MIDI Output: Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro MIDI
Description: Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro
Provider: Digidesign
DriverDate: 8-10-2005
DriverVersion: 7.1.2.0


MIDI Input: Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro MIDI
Description: Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro
Provider: Digidesign
DriverDate: 8-10-2005
DriverVersion: 7.1.2.0



================ Results Per Message =====================================

MESSAGES Snd Rcv Snd+Rcv

Message TotalTime: 880.77 ms 62848.07 ms 63728.84 ms
Message MaximumTime: 0.09 ms 4.27 ms 4.30 ms
Message MinimumTime: 0.02 ms 0.00 ms 0.03 ms
Message AverageTime: 0.03 ms 2.01 ms 2.04 ms
SysexTime: 18.38 ms 310.52 ms 328.89 ms
SysexAverage: 0.00 ms 0.03 ms 0.03 ms

< 1 ms: 31250 4952 4799
1 - 2 ms: 0 9488 9309
2 - 3 ms: 0 11944 12000
3 - 4 ms: 0 4833 5097
4 - 5 ms: 0 33 45
5 - 10 ms: 0 0 0
10 - 20 ms: 0 0 0
20 - 50 ms: 0 0 0
50 - 100 ms: 0 0 0
> 100 ms: 0 0 0

Message count: 31250 Sysex count: 161
Sysex size: 10001 Sysex passed: 10001

Message latency: 2.04 ms Total time: 21780.823 sec
Message jitter: 0.95 ms
Message max deviation: 2.26 ms



================ Results Per Byte ========================================

BYTES

Byte TotalTime: 28388.69 ms
Byte MaximumTime: 4.06 ms
Byte MinimumTime: 0.01 ms
Byte AverageTime: 0.91 ms

< 1 ms: 20712
1 - 2 ms: 8789
2 - 3 ms: 1228
3 - 4 ms: 518
4 - 5 ms: 3
5 - 10 ms: 0
10 - 20 ms: 0
20 - 50 ms: 0
50 - 100 ms: 0
> 100 ms: 0

Byte count: 79015

Byte latency: 0.91 ms
Byte jitter: 0.62 ms
Byte max deviation: 3.15 ms















filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2007, 11:12 AM
Chri Chri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
Default Re: Midi test on MBox 2? How much global midi offs

Hi filosofem,

thank you for posting your results.
I think the latency with you MBox2 Pro is already kind of acceptable. Actually I don't know what part of the Out->In latency is input latency and what part is output latency.

When it comes to latency, PCI is still the best solution I guess. Neither Firewire nor USB are getting close. It is a pitty that Digidesign does not offer an Pro Tools LE interface that comes as a PCI Card with a digitally connected breakout box. This way we could have lower latency and lower bus load, but still have the preamps and converters outside the computer case.

Lucky people who can afford HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2007, 09:57 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Midi test on MBox 2? How much global midi offs

Quote:
Actually I don't know what part of the Out->In latency is input latency and what part is output latency.
Nah, me neither, I just thought you'd like to see the comparison between the units. Normally, to equate latency, I'll just print the track and enter the Offset, pretty simple, but effective, or either just drag the region back.

Anyways...








filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2007, 03:42 PM
Tommy Fobia Tommy Fobia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: Midi test on MBox 2? How much global midi offs

Sorry. Classic case of posting a subject and COMPLETELY forgetting about it...


Thanks for the link. I'm running an intel mac, and had a search for a mac version of Midi test... It appears that there IS a version, but I can't seem to download it...

I recently bought a 002 (FOR CHEAP!!!) Sound Control heavily discounted them to make way for the 003, so I snapped one up!

I'll post the test results for that too as soon as I get the program working!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi global offset - midi click - delay compensation - VEPRO hanstondo Pro Tools 10 3 06-24-2020 05:17 PM
Global Midi Offset not working JohnnyFiction Pro Tools 11 3 12-16-2013 07:58 PM
Global Midi Offset and USB MIDI Sound Modules colonyrecords Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 11-26-2008 08:42 AM
Global Midi Offset puzzle... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-22-2003 11:54 PM
Global Midi Offset J J Macrae MIDI 0 02-13-2003 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com