Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2019, 10:07 PM
aftermid aftermid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: miami, Fl. USA
Posts: 130
Default Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

Recently I upgraded my Mac from Mountain Lion to Yosemite. I went as far as Yosemite, because that is still compatible with v11.3. Right about this time I bought a Midas M32 Live console. I used to be able to use the HDX card for everything, like hear iTunes or YouTube or whatever. Now, it still appears on System Preferences and I click on it, but if I close the window and then reopen it, HDX is no longer selected on the list. I have no access to the HDX card. Don't know if this a Yosemite issue or Midas issue. The Midas worked fine for about 2 days. Now no audio from anything. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2019, 10:29 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,606
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

I seem To remember something about core audio and Yosemite now that you mention it

We would have to search the DUC to find out for sure
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2019, 06:50 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 948
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

Yes ---Core Audio for Avid HD hardware was broken with Yosemite and was not fixed for some 2 1/2 years or so later, in some version of PTHD 12 ( 12.4 -- I think if I remember correctly)

Here is the PT 11.3 Release Notes reference (note again the "driver update" mentioned did not come for over 2 years

"On Mac OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) only, iTunes does not work with HDX or HD|Native hardware using the AvidCoreAudio manager.
(PTSW-194693)"
The Avid CoreAudio Manager is currently not compatible with Mac OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) and a driver update will be required.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Apple 1TB HDD and PT sessions storage on Apple 2TB HDD--


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2019, 09:38 AM
aftermid aftermid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: miami, Fl. USA
Posts: 130
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

You mention there is a driver required. Do you know if Avid has made this driver available? I can't imagine they've let this go on this long. Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2019, 09:00 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,606
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

Problem is which driver and which version of PT will be combatible with Yosem


What are you running?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2019, 09:18 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 948
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by aftermid View Post
You mention there is a driver required. Do you know if Avid has made this driver available? I can't imagine they've let this go on this long. Thanks for the info.
If your asking me ? First What you need to do first is post a detailed system list. Not just reference in your post which is pretty confusing.

Because for example without an I/O interface of some kind. You actually cannot do anything with just an HDX card ?

First as I said the problem only involved Avid HD I/O's it was not an issue with 3 rd party interfaces ...... so What I/O were you using ?

Also note I said the problem is fixed I think it is it was not 12 .4 I think it was 12.6.1 and again the problem only related to AVID HD I/O interfaces people running 3 rd party interfaces did not have that issue
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Apple 1TB HDD and PT sessions storage on Apple 2TB HDD--


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2019, 10:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,171
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

HDX driver is included in the PT installer image
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2019, 09:26 PM
aftermid aftermid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: miami, Fl. USA
Posts: 130
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3 and Yosemite

What do you mean by: "HDX driver is included in the PT installer image"


Is this included when we install PT 11? and does that mean it will work for Yosemite? From the posts it seems that the core driver issue isn't resolved until PT 12? Could you please clarify about the PT installer image?


Also, remember the interface is an Omni HDX? I've also used a Midas console as the interface and it doesn't work either. Some one mentioned that these core driver issues work with 3rd party interfaces. In the case of Midas, it doesn't.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help re Pro Tools LE 8 vs Yosemite Up The Irons! macOS 2 10-16-2017 06:20 AM
2012 Mac Pro upgrade to Yosemite -- where to get Yosemite install??? WildHoney Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 05-17-2016 03:09 PM
Pro tools 9MP + Yosemite (OSX 10.10) ShortWarning Pro Tools 9 9 01-03-2016 04:13 PM
Yosemite support added to Pro Tools | Duet and Pro Tools | Quartet Avid Technical Alerts 0 01-30-2015 05:50 PM
Pro tools yosemite OS X Johnny Mac Pro Tools 10 11 12-18-2014 07:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com