Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2003, 02:26 PM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default Re: Dual hard drives

Hey auxsend, I have three hardrives like you say but what do you mean by throughput?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2003, 03:15 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Dual hard drives

A harddisk having to put out 32 channels of audio has a lot of work to do. If that same harddisk also has to work for the OS to load stuff and do the memory-swapping thing and read all the automation and stuff like that it can be too much.

By spreading the load over 2 or more harddisks you get a better performance.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2003, 12:34 AM
facethemusic facethemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 12
Default Dual hard drives

I want to upgrade my current system which features one 34 gig hard drive partitioned into a 6 gig and 28 gig configuation. I've been reading the thread about systems for under $1000 and all of them seem to have a dual hard drive set-up. Can someone please explain to me why having two hard drives seem to be so important in running Pro Tools? Why not just one large capacity hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2003, 12:36 AM
auxsend1 auxsend1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 871
Default Re: Dual hard drives

One drive is for the OS and Pro Tools program. The other drive is strictly for the audio files. This ensures that you get the full throughput of a drive just for recording and playing back audio.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Hard Drives? Why? Jasconito 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-03-2011 08:01 AM
Internal Hard drives for G5 Dual 2.7GHz toneski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-07-2008 08:02 AM
computer lag, dual hard drives, help please tbonechillaxin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-02-2006 04:38 AM
Dual G5 with dual hard drives Larry Pate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-25-2004 08:34 AM
Dual G5 with dual hard drives Larry Pate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-25-2004 05:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com