Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #201  
Old 07-25-2019, 01:55 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 937
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Roberts View Post
Hi, this looks really interesting, however when I download the package it seems incomplete. The extras folder contains one apple script template but no macros to import to KM. Is there anyone that can explain what I might be doing wrong? would love to experiment with these and try to learn more about macros for speed.

thanks

Honestly I have read your post quickly and my reply was hasty.
The KM macros come with v1 of my scripts, see post #1 of this thread. However, no sweat. I attached some KM macros to get you going (above).
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 07-28-2019, 08:55 AM
John Roberts John Roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Soundbyte Studios
Posts: 5
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Thanks for your assistance. I installed the macros in KM, and installed the apple scripts with your installer.

I was not able to get the Macro to trigger the script at first. I would get a system error "Can't get window "Audio Suite Reverse" of App Pro Tools -1728.

I was able to run the script from within the KM editor by pressing the "try" button.

Finally after much frustration, just by coincidence, I discovered that the macro does work! but only if i hit the hot key extremely fast. I have to tap it rather quickly. Does this mean I need extra steps to slow or pause the KM macro?

Last edited by John Roberts; 07-28-2019 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 07-28-2019, 10:53 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 937
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Roberts View Post
Thanks for your assistance. I installed the macros in KM, and installed the apple scripts with your installer.

I was not able to get the Macro to trigger the script at first. I would get a system error "Can't get window "Audio Suite Reverse" of App Pro Tools -1728.

I was able to run the script from within the KM editor by pressing the "try" button.

Finally after much frustration, just by coincidence, I discovered that the macro does work! but only if i hit the hot key extremely fast. I have to tap it rather quickly. Does this mean I need extra steps to slow or pause the KM macro?
The AppleScript is triggered once Keyboard Maestro sends the command to do so. How fast or slow you type the hot key shouldn’t matter, unless you use sticky hot keys.
I think this is something to troubleshoot within KM.
Have you tried other hot keys?

I am no Keyboard Maestro expert but I remember that when I created the macros KM wasn’t that reliable when triggering AppleScript files (and I mean AppleScript files, not AppleScript code). This is why I recommend the app FastScripts.
I created the KM macros as a courtesy only as I know that a lot of PT users love the app.

Which version of KM are you using?
Maybe someone around here can help you but I am afraid I can’t at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 08-22-2019, 07:21 AM
Nick Wuerpel Nick Wuerpel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hello,
inspired by the suggestions here in the forum I also started to write some applescripts. Thanks to you all.
I would like to write a script that bounces selected tracks and then copies them to another drive. Now have the problem that my script is not waiting for the end of the bounce process. I tried to solve this with "repeat until exists window xx". Unfortunately, the window that appears during the bounce process does not appear to have an "AXWindow" name. to use an index, e.g. window 2 does not work either. Does anyone know how I can let my script wait until protools has finished the bounce process?

Thanks,
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 08-22-2019, 07:44 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 937
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Wuerpel View Post
Hello,
inspired by the suggestions here in the forum I also started to write some applescripts. Thanks to you all.
I would like to write a script that bounces selected tracks and then copies them to another drive. Now have the problem that my script is not waiting for the end of the bounce process. I tried to solve this with "repeat until exists window xx". Unfortunately, the window that appears during the bounce process does not appear to have an "AXWindow" name. to use an index, e.g. window 2 does not work either. Does anyone know how I can let my script wait until protools has finished the bounce process?

Thanks,
Nick
Nick,

you'll have to use a counter function that checks for new files by date and size.
I have written a similar script to print sessions.
In short:
It loads a session, record arms the tracks to be recorded (I always print two different versions with different voiceovers, thus more than 1 version to be printed), it then prints the session, when done loads the next session and repeats the steps.

I use this to prepare sessions that I want to print in realtime if I do not have to attend while printing. So I run the script overnight. It prints 8-16 session that way.

However, this is complicated code and I cannot simply give you an advise or code that will work for you.

The main idea is to watch the destination folder (the folder you bounce/print to) for new files being created by date and once the file size is stable (e.g. does not change anymore) it considers the process as done and moves on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12 Trim Automation bleu@cheerful.com Pro Tools 12 2 08-16-2015 04:25 AM
Pro Tools 11.2.1 Automation Bug?! Gneal550 Pro Tools 11 1 11-22-2014 01:15 PM
GRM tools automation bug? D'Animation Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-08-2014 08:21 AM
scripting Pro Tools; automation Bermaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-01-2004 12:38 PM
AppleScripts and other Macros for PT Bergeron Tips & Tricks 1 11-15-1999 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com