Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:01 AM
Glazik Glazik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 99
Unhappy Pt9 & uad2 :-/

Hello,

I have an UAD2 Duo on my DAW (W7 / Q9550 / 4Go ) which works great on Nuendo5, but is a total disaster on PT9.

I saw on the UAD forum that another guy had the same issue (but his UAD works correctly with Samplitude).

Any fix ?

JM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:22 AM
stakeoutstudios stakeoutstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Pt9 & uad2 :-/

My two UAD2 quads are running perfectly with Pro Tools 9 on a 2009 mac pro with snow leopard if thats any help?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2010, 11:38 PM
GKinTN GKinTN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 72
Default Re: Pt9 & uad2 :-/

NO fix for you. But just confirmation of someone else not having good luck at all with a UAD2 (quad) with PT9 on a PC! I have an i7, 6 gig ram, Windows 7 64 bit. Runs great with a UAD2 quad with both Sonar, Reaper, and Soundforge. Reaper can go as quick as 48 samples with the UAD2, at close to full processing power on the UAD2.

But with PT9>

UAD2 only works at 1024 samples, and isn't even reliable there. It can sometimes lock up, and at the same time corrupt the session to were it will no longer open. Even if it can be made reliable, a 1024 buffer means you can max out the allowable ADC with just 3 UAD plugins on a channel.

Also, another oddity on my system is conflicts with my other DAW. For some reason running PT9 causes Reaper to then be non functional. Reaper will play, but once you touch a track lane it will start to flicker wildy and lock the program. An uninstall of PT9 won't fix it, a reinstall of Reaper won't fix it. However rolling Windows back with the restore function to a point before actually running PT9 will fix it. I've been able to repeat this. If I get it cleaned up and totally uninstalled/restored then I can actually install PT9 and Reaper will be unaffected, but once PT9 is opened up one time Reaper's function is then permanently corrupted again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2010, 11:59 PM
trep trep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Default Re: Pt9 & uad2 :-/

I was having some trouble myself with instant CPU error msgs, until I found the sweet spot w/ settings it seems:

Comp Note: Win7 x64; i7 2.93GHz; 12GB Mem
PT Note: Presonus FireStudio Mobile; 88.2 KHz; 24-bit

- 2048 buffer
- PT disk buffer settings (level 4; large)
- delay comp: long
- cpu 95%
- Proc #: 6 of 8

I was able to run 20 tracks (6 aud stereo; 12 aud mono; 2 aux stereo); 100+ native plugs; 95% of UAD-2 Quad usage (tested w/ 4K chans; Fatso; Manley MP; EMT 250/140; DimD; 1176LN; 33609; 1073; LA2A)

All in all, I think I found the right settings to keep me happy. Sessions run beautifully and bounce to disk works fine. Might want to give those a shot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt11hd + uad2 xy44 Pro Tools 11 3 06-03-2013 06:16 AM
Pci hd1 and uad2 on the same pc ??? john cox Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-01-2009 12:05 PM
UAD2 v 5.3 - is it safe? zakco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 04-30-2009 11:29 PM
ADC using UAD2? rimskidog Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-30-2009 08:09 AM
Uad2 taiazeez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-04-2008 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com