Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 10-31-2005, 05:46 PM

Default Midi won\'t play

it's me with my dumb questions again. I'm new at this. i recorded some midi, but it won't play back. my click track plays, so i know i have audio, and when i recorded it, i had audio (although i don't know if that's that same at all as playback). so if anyone can help me with this probably simple issue, that would be much appreciated. thanks
Old 10-31-2005, 06:15 PM

Default Re: Midi won\'t play

What is your track setup like? Have you got a Stereo AUX with your virtual instrument inserted in it and have you selected the correct output on your MIDI track?

Just narrowing down some possibilities
Old 10-31-2005, 06:59 PM

yeah. that confuses me a bit. cuz there's the midi track, and the aux track. but you don't have the plug ins in the midi, you have them in the aux. so if i'm not getting sound, i dont get which track has the problem. haha. sorry, my recording capabilities are still in their infancy, and these are probably really simple problems. i just dont get how come the out in the midi track can be my vsthost but not in the aux. is it going through both of them? i mean, I get that midi is signals, not sound. but i'm st. ill a bit confused. i just want to make my music!!! haha. anyway, hope that made any sense. thanks
Old 10-31-2005, 07:10 PM

Pretty much, the MIDI goes into the MIDI Track, which outputs to the virtual instrument that is running as a plugin on an Aux track.

I think that you can agree that the new Instrument track in PT 7 will be of immense use to you. It will take this MIDI to Plugin on Aux track and make it into a single track where the MIDI and audio data co-exist. Makes it much simpler.