Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-14-2000, 10:39 AM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

Yes Steve, it's been almost 4 MONTHS since I posted this. What's up or is it because you now sell the ATTO you're not going to test it?
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-19-2000, 02:04 PM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

CAN SOMEONE AT DIGI TELL ME WHAT'S GOIN ON WITH THE 39160??????????????????????????????
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-22-2000, 09:13 PM
Disco_Doctor Disco_Doctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Hollywoood, CA
Posts: 1,110
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

Steve,

I would also like info on the AttoExpressPCI dual channel ultra 160 card.

Could you please make an effort to reply to this thread, even if there is no news? I don't want to buy yesterday's SCSI controller if I don't have to - I'd like to get the latest card to accomodate the fastest drives. I want to get either the Adaptec 39160, or the ultra 160 atto card - whichever is best for Pro Tools...so...what's up?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-23-2000, 11:17 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

We're seeing some pretty serious PCI bus performance problems with the 39160. I've just completed a week's worth of tests at all of the possible PCI cache management settings with the board, and they all fail.

I'll be talking to Adaptec shortly.

Apologies for not responding sooner, but I've had several major projects of considerably higher priority to deal with recently.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-24-2000, 05:14 AM
Disco_Doctor Disco_Doctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Hollywoood, CA
Posts: 1,110
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

Dang!

Thanks for replying re the Adaptec card - even though it's bad news.

So what is the deal Steve? Is this a Pro Tools/DAE problem or a Digi hardware problem or what? What "failed" in your tests?

Also, if the 39160 is out of the question, what about the ultra-160 dual port Atto card? I know you're busy, but please post what you know (or don't know) about that card so I can make a purchase decision.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-05-2000, 11:45 PM
midigeek midigeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Houston, Texas 77082
Posts: 64
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

<<<Can you explain your "unfavorable" experiences with the ATTO cards?
>>>

First off, on a B&W G3 400 with the 3940UW and 512 megs of RAM the computer take around 9 seconds from a cold start to get the screen up and then start booting.

With the dual channel ATTO card, on a B&W G3 350 with 256 megs of RAM, it takes around 40-50 seconds for the computer to start booting.

Thanks
Mike Stokes
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-06-2000, 11:59 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

Mike,

There's a setting in the ExpressPro-Tools control panel for each SCSI channel. It's called "Selection Timeout." It determines how long the initiator waits for a device to respond when an ID is scanned. The default is 250ms -- that's per unoccupied SCSI ID.

You can reduce this timeout setting (I believe as low as 4ms). This will speed up your boot times by allowing the initiator to pass by unoccupied SCSI IDs more quickly.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-10-2000, 12:23 AM
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 881
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

Hi Steve, You said: I'll be talking to Adaptec shortly.
Have you yet? What did Adaptec say?
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad-Core Mid 2010 MC250LL/A
16GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk1 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
MARVINBASS Digital Audio
Pro Tools and Mac Consulting
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-13-2000, 11:45 AM
Polaris Polaris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles,CA
Posts: 369
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

MARVINBASS
FWIW: I've been running the Adaptec 39160 on a G4/400/AGP Sawtooth with PT MIX and 18gig Seagate Ultra160 drives since I got the thing and it has been screaming. The only problem I've encountered is the two inits at bootup with more than one drive connected which I believe to be a problem even with the ATTO card. I've called Adaptec before the purchase and guess what, they have a G4 MIX+ system in their offices! Knew all about PT etc; claimed it hums along with the 39160 just fine. Curious myself what kinds of problems Digi is having????? I've heard few people claim they were really happy with the ATTO, I've always had good luck with Adaptec, I'll keep my fingers crossed until its approved, but so far so good!
-Polaris
__________________
Polaris
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-16-2000, 02:57 PM
Disco_Doctor Disco_Doctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Hollywoood, CA
Posts: 1,110
Default Re: Apdatec 39160?

That's good to hear Polaris...thanks for the info.

Steve, would you PLEASE reply to this thread with some more info? My questions are:

1) Does the ATTO card work in older Macs (9600, PowerTower Pro)

2) Is the Ultra160 dual channel ATTO card (the latest one) approved?

3) I've seen several G4's with ATTO cards that refuse to boot if hard drives with older FWB drivers are placed on the SCSI chain. The ATTO card seems really touchy about this. Polaris mentions running current firmware on hard drives - so my question is: Is the ATTO card picky about hard drive firmware, or just picky about the software driver placed on the hard drive by the formatting software?

4) If I put LVD and/or Ultra160 drives on an Adaptec 3940U2W, what will happen? Should it work?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adaptec 39160 MARVINBASS Storage Subsystems 4 01-17-2006 06:45 PM
Adaptec 39160 revisited Polaris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-23-2001 06:28 AM
New G4 and Adaptec 39160. Will it work now? Bokir General Discussion 3 03-01-2001 09:28 PM
Will the Adaptec 39160 work with LE? blanketsick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-13-2000 10:00 PM
powerdomain 39160 ultra 160/m thefly Storage Subsystems 1 11-14-1999 01:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com