Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 02-24-2011, 07:24 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,236
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avid View Post
If this seller on ebay is correct, you can't use that as an internal drive. This looks like the exact same model as the one in your picture:
Western Digital WD10TMVW-11ZSMS0 1Tb 2.5" USB3


A Google search for the model number "WD10TMVW" doesn't find much else, but does suggest that it is a 5400 RPM drive, and from the pictures and description, it sounds to me like the USB3 port is what is built-in to the PCB.
Is that ebay listing a joke? $250 for a 5400 RPM 1TB drive? Who cares if it's 2.5" if it doesn't fit in a laptop? You can buy a 3.5" 1TB drive for $50 all day long.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:02 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,236
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hulnick View Post
That's the thing. He hasn't tried to help. He just flings insults at me. I asked for help and assistance not flaming.
Brian, if you want help you need to post ALL of the relevant information at once. If someone asks you for more information, post it right away. Don't bump this thread every 2 days with a few random words over the span of a month, just tell us everything we need to know right away. Nobody wants to keep coming back and re-reading the entire thread to try and find all of the information related to your problem scattered across a month's worth of posts, this is annoying and just makes it look like you are trying to up your post count. Next time start your own thread, title it with a title that clearly describes your problem, and include all of the details about your system that are relevant to the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-24-2011, 10:25 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Brian, if you want help you need to post ALL of the relevant information at once. If someone asks you for more information, post it right away. Don't bump this thread every 2 days with a few random words over the span of a month, just tell us everything we need to know right away. Nobody wants to keep coming back and re-reading the entire thread to try and find all of the information related to your problem scattered across a month's worth of posts, this is annoying and just makes it look like you are trying to up your post count. Next time start your own thread, title it with a title that clearly describes your problem, and include all of the details about your system that are relevant to the problem.
This is not about Brian Hulnick's "problem" that he came here looking for help with. Go back to the beginning of the thread and read his first few posts. They are just idle chit chat about USB3 and FW.

What most people will not be aware of is that BH made his first appearance on this forum while an OLD (2001) thread about Recording Connection was dredged up. In that thread, he pasted in the same BS that he has pasted into 20 other forums about how "a mentor program is a great way to get a start in the recording industry". There were also a cadre of other brand new "members" contributing to the "positive" spin that was trying to be put on RC. It got bad enough that the admins deleted the thread. At the same time he jumped onto this thread to try and appear as a "contributing member" of the forum. It was probably the only thread he could find that had anything to do with anything he actually has some experience with. Notice that his comments here have nothing to do with ProTools or recording in general...

All you have to do to see what I am talking about is Google "Brian Hulnick" and read a few of those threads. Any attempts to help him or give him credibility are furthering his Recording Connection agenda and using this forum as a tool for such. In fact, Brian Hulnick is probably just one of several fake internet personae that this individual is using for said agenda...

Sorry this seems harsh, but it is the truth... Use this info as you will...


aka21st had the right idea... turn the thread back to the subject of the post.. Or let it die.
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 03-02-2011, 12:39 AM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avid View Post
If this seller on ebay is correct, you can't use that as an internal drive. This looks like the exact same model as the one in your picture:
Western Digital WD10TMVW-11ZSMS0 1Tb 2.5" USB3


A Google search for the model number "WD10TMVW" doesn't find much else, but does suggest that it is a 5400 RPM drive, and from the pictures and description, it sounds to me like the USB3 port is what is built-in to the PCB.
Thank you Avid. Much appreciate you checking into this for me. That is indeed the same model. I ended up buying a 750GB internal for my G/Fs MBP. It should arrive soon. Thanks again for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 03-02-2011, 09:27 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,226
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
This is not about Brian Hulnick's "problem" that he came here looking for help with. Go back to the beginning of the thread and read his first few posts. They are just idle chit chat about USB3 and FW.

What most people will not be aware of is that BH made his first appearance on this forum while an OLD (2001) thread about Recording Connection was dredged up. In that thread, he pasted in the same BS that he has pasted into 20 other forums about how "a mentor program is a great way to get a start in the recording industry". There were also a cadre of other brand new "members" contributing to the "positive" spin that was trying to be put on RC. It got bad enough that the admins deleted the thread. At the same time he jumped onto this thread to try and appear as a "contributing member" of the forum. It was probably the only thread he could find that had anything to do with anything he actually has some experience with. Notice that his comments here have nothing to do with ProTools or recording in general...

All you have to do to see what I am talking about is Google "Brian Hulnick" and read a few of those threads. Any attempts to help him or give him credibility are furthering his Recording Connection agenda and using this forum as a tool for such. In fact, Brian Hulnick is probably just one of several fake internet personae that this individual is using for said agenda...

Sorry this seems harsh, but it is the truth... Use this info as you will...


aka21st had the right idea... turn the thread back to the subject of the post.. Or let it die.
And just to add to this.

http://www.complaintsboard.com/panel...file&id=520599

click on the number 2 complaints, you'll get what they are about.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE compatibility with AVID VIDEO ironfin Post - Surround - Video 1 08-30-2010 11:33 PM
Compatibility status of MelodyneBridge and PT8 naughty G Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-12-2009 04:51 PM
Avid and PT compatibility? nowinner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-06-2007 08:30 AM
System Status vs. CPU Status Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-25-2003 12:40 AM
System Status and CPU Status - Please Help Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-24-2003 03:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com