Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-20-2000, 05:26 PM
B-Bo B-Bo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee, U.S.A.
Posts: 51
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

Still lookin for some help!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-20-2000, 06:46 PM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

Can you provide your system information?

- CPU
- OS version
- Pro Tools version

Can you verify the condition of your drive via Norton utilities or TechTool or Disk First Aid? Include any media tests or bad block checks.

I'm leaning toward the SCSI card not being compatible, but I'd like to rule out any problems with the drive.

Appreciate your patience.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-20-2000, 10:04 PM
Bill Robinson Bill Robinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 15
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

B
I installed the Express Pro Tools driver on my audio drive (not connected to an ATTO card but an adaptec card) and I got the -36 error every time. I switched back to the old FWB driver and the -36 went away.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-23-2000, 11:58 PM
B-Bo B-Bo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee, U.S.A.
Posts: 51
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

CPU- Power Mac 7500 with Newertech MAXpower G3 processor upgrade.

OS Version - MAC OS 9.0.4

Pro Tools Version - 5.0.1

Verified Disk with Disk First Aid and it checked out OK.

I experienced identical performance with both version 5.0 and 5.0.1 of Pro Tools LE.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-25-2000, 06:23 PM
slinky slinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 255
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

B-bo,

just got some experience with this issue today. if your card is an OEM version from apple it cannot be flashed (it has no flash). the reason why your settings are greyed out is because once you make a new setting it is flashed into the card, since your card has no flash it only has one setting. apple uses those OEM atto cards in their servers now. better buy a new card!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-29-2000, 01:52 PM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

Unfortunately, I think Slinky is correct on this one.

If this is indeed an Apple OEM version of the ATTO card, we don't support it. The OEM versions typically use non-standard firmware that -- as you've found out -- inhibits us from controlling some of the vital parameters of the card. (This also held true for us with the OEM versions of Adaptec cards that shipped with the Blue and White G3s.)

I was hoping we might be able to do a few tricks that might make it useable, but I'm afraid I don't have anything else up my sleeve.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-01-2003, 05:52 PM
H.Simpson H.Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: London
Posts: 6
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

I have had similar problems with a dual scsi card. Sometimes, I can hear the drives spinning down and then they spin back up again and during this, giving lots of DAE -36 errors. I have a twin tyrestor hot swapable bay with 18GB seagate drives. This has been happening more and more. Have tried lots of firmware versions: 1.44 1.66 and most in between.
Wondering if anyone else had this???
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-02-2003, 01:42 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

Just so you're aware..

If you have FWB drivers on your hard drive and try to use it with an ATTO card, you will get -36 errors. And vice versa.. if you try to use the ATTO driver on a hard drive on an Adaptec card, you will get a -36 error.

You can simply change the driver on the hard drive to match the SCSI card you're using.

This may not be your only problem.. but it will help you if you try to troubleshoot using both Adaptec and ATTO cards.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-03-2003, 03:21 AM
H.Simpson H.Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: London
Posts: 6
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

Thanks for the suggestion but I haven't used FWB for a while now. The version of Atto Express ProTools is 2.8.2.
drives just spinning down in the middle of a session is just the most confidence destroying thing - especially when you have invested a lot of money in the hard drives.

It's mental.

H.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-05-2003, 01:29 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 845
Default Re: ATTO EPCI Single Channel - DAE error -36

I have an Adaptec 3940 UW and use the Atto drivers exclusively. Never a problem. However, this is installed in a Power Tower Pro (G4 Upgraded) and that may not be the case in a newer Mac G3 or G4.

Drives spinning down after mounting are most likely heat related. I don't know of anything in the SCSI card that would tell a drive to spin down once it has been mounted. Even dismounting a drive with the Express ProTools utility won't spin it down. Sounds like it is probably time for some upgrades...

rcm
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATTO PCI PSC SINGLE CHANNEL w/G4 soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-16-2003 12:38 AM
Single Channel ATTO w/G4 800 PTPerson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-13-2002 08:52 AM
ATTO SINGLE Channel SCSI OK on new G4? Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-14-2001 03:38 PM
Single Channel ATTO? Paul Lawley Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-05-2001 02:42 PM
can i use single channel Atto or Adaptec SCSI with G4 ??? dw Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-29-2000 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com