Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2018, 04:53 AM
Talisker Talisker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 268
Default replacing a piano sound

Hi there. I have a recorded piano but I am not happy with the way it sounds at all. So I am looking for ways to replace that with a sample sound. I found out, that ableton live can do it via rewire and I also came across the sound replacer. But from what I saw that plug in is more or less just a drum replacer, is it not ?
Any ideas or experiences with replacing sounds other than drums ?

thanx for your input

kai
__________________
Mac Mini 205 Ghz Intel Core i5, 8GB Ram, OSX 10.8.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Pro Tools 10.3.9, Glyph hard drive 750GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2018, 05:14 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: replacing a piano sound

Do a search on 'polyphonic audio to MIDI' to see some options. Melodyne comes to mind first, but expensive. Sometimes it's better to record a keyboard part as MIDI - much easier substitute sounds later.
__________________
PT 2018.7 DP 9.51 VEP 6.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1803)
PT 2018.7 DP 9.51 VEP 6.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2018, 05:15 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,344
Default Re: replacing a piano sound

This can do wonders especially if its an electric piano
https://www.overloud.com/products/vkfx
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2018, 07:46 AM
Talisker Talisker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 268
Default Re: replacing a piano sound

Well it is a kind of middle quality concert piano sound but I want a great concert
piano sound, so any effects won‘t help me. Anybofy ever tried ableton with rewire ?
__________________
Mac Mini 205 Ghz Intel Core i5, 8GB Ram, OSX 10.8.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Pro Tools 10.3.9, Glyph hard drive 750GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2018, 07:51 AM
Talisker Talisker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 268
Default Re: replacing a piano sound

How about intelliscore ensemble ?
__________________
Mac Mini 205 Ghz Intel Core i5, 8GB Ram, OSX 10.8.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Pro Tools 10.3.9, Glyph hard drive 750GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2018, 08:32 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: replacing a piano sound

You can download the Ableton Live demo and do the audio to MIDI conversion to see if it works without too many artifacts on your track. I don't believe you can export files from the demo, but at least you'll have an idea of what kind of output to expect. You'll also need a good piano VI to play the extracted MIDI. Reason also does audio to MIDI, same with DP, but not sure how capable the polyphonic algorithms are.
__________________
PT 2018.7 DP 9.51 VEP 6.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1803)
PT 2018.7 DP 9.51 VEP 6.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2018, 04:08 AM
Talisker Talisker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 268
Default Re: replacing a piano sound

thanx for all your suggestions I finally did it with a melodyne demo hopefully I will get everything done in those 30 days.

Kai
__________________
Mac Mini 205 Ghz Intel Core i5, 8GB Ram, OSX 10.8.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Pro Tools 10.3.9, Glyph hard drive 750GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Sound Replacer... Midi? cocamycola89 Pro Tools 9 8 08-10-2011 05:37 AM
sample accurate sound replacing usd Tips & Tricks 10 04-23-2007 08:15 AM
Sound replacing? KrisNY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-29-2005 04:30 PM
Drum sound replacing help. antenna Tips & Tricks 1 04-27-2004 01:15 AM
"Sound replacing" in OSX Bookerv12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-06-2003 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com