Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-04-2011, 01:28 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: what control surface

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd513 View Post
the varience would be another 1200 which i dont have... but since u dont like to answer the actual question u can be excused now
WOW man, hum, I'm just trying to help you......How old are you?

Just to try one more time to help, you can get a used 192 I/O for less than 1000. If you sell you 96 I/O for 400, you can upgrade for around 600.00 max. Now that "Will" make a substantial improvement in your sound.

Now, I will excuse myself....I'm really sorry to try to help you, and obviously offend you as well
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-04-2011, 08:54 PM
nerd513 nerd513 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 581
Default Re: what control surface

thanks for the help... 2 bad the post wasnt anything to do with my interface but yea thanks a million... ill run out sell my 96 io and buy a 192 immediatly per ur suggestion
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-04-2011, 09:08 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: what control surface

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd513 View Post
thanks for the help... 2 bad the post wasnt anything to do with my interface but yea thanks a million... ill run out sell my 96 io and buy a 192 immediatly per ur suggestion
You my friend are an interesting fellow.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-07-2011, 02:01 AM
glennaudio glennaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 116
Default Re: what control surface

@Nerd513: why do you bother asking for input from others? you seem to get so irritated by responses from others.

Your question isn't really clear. Are you asking about control surfaces or are you asking about preamps? Are you specifically asking for someone to recommend a control surface like the control 24 that has pre-amps on it?.... When you talk about control surfaces, that usually refers to a fancy controller for your DAW and doesn't always have anything to do with routing i/o.

From what you're saying, it sounds like you're trying to do what is usually done with a decent mixer with clean pre-amps. Is there a specific reason why you don't want to use a mixer? You say you're looking for a control surface but want the functionality of a mixer....?!?!?! I use an Onyx 1620 to feed my 8x8x8 but it's not a control surface. It's a mixer. Are you maybe looking for a digital mixer that doubles as a controller for your DAW? What is your budget?

I think you need to clarify your needs so others can better respond to your inquiry.

On a side note, it makes no sense for you to ask others for help and then get frustrated when you don't get the answers you want or need. Be a more effective communicator and show others more respect. This is a place where engineers try to help each other out. We don't need to bash on each other.
__________________
MacPro 5,1: 12-core 2.93 GHz 48GB RAM OS X 10.12.2 | Pro Tools HDNative 12.7.1 | HD I/O 8x8x8 | UA 4-710D | Avalon VT737 | Waves Diamond | Komplete 12 Ultimate Collector's | Kontrol S61 | Maschine Studio | Eleven Rack | Pro Tools Control w/ 9.7" iPad Pro | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-07-2011, 04:48 AM
Fix Fix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 78
Default Re: what control surface

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd513 View Post
wondering what options are out there other than the C24... currently i use an avalon for my mic pre and go directly into my 96 io with everything else... i am looking for something to route my audio into my 96 io mainly for volume control going in without "coloring" the sound... any suggestions
Depending on your needs and what you're actually routing through it, a C24 will probably work fine. Personally, I'm a big fan of the original Control 24. I still route a few non-critical things through mine - laptop, older keyboard modules, etc. I run all my mic pres directly into my interface though.

Not sure what you're price limit is, but if you want something with a control surface but with "pristine" audio path maybe you would be interested in something like the SSL Nucleus or Matrix

http://www.solidstatelogic.com/music/nucleus/

http://www.solidstatelogic.com/music/matrix/

This one is really pricy...but personally, I've also been interested in checking out a Genesys from Neve too...

http://www.ams-neve.com/site/Product...esysVideo.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-07-2011, 06:05 AM
nerd513 nerd513 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 581
Default Re: what control surface

i really dont even want a control surface i just want something with trim nobs and no extra circuits... i dont really like to plug directly into my interface but thats what ive been doing...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:53 PM
degs7 degs7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 180
Default Re: what control surface

since you don't want to fine tune your pre-amp every time you record (and i know i'm going against what Bill said) why not bring your audio in on an aux track routed to an audio track?

oh, and the 192 is way more better.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:59 PM
degs7 degs7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 180
Default Re: what control surface

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd513 View Post
was just looking for some kind of volume control without using a mixer... i dont like to color the signal just wanted a line of defense before going in to the 96
and while we're at it, go ahead and explain that one. how does an external piece of gear, that raises the level, not "color" the signal?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-07-2011, 09:18 PM
nerd513 nerd513 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 581
Default Re: what control surface

im fine with my mic going thru a pre amp... but i would rather record everything else as dry as possible... if i could afford a nice mixer that would be one thing, but i cant right now... just really need i think a passive mixer with 8 in 8 out...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 control surface (As audio) & control 24 as surface crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 01-04-2016 01:30 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 01:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 08:03 PM
Digi 003 Control Surface Mackie Control Mode ctmusicman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-23-2008 08:23 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 07:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com