Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2019, 12:17 AM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 582
Default Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

This has just started. I did update from Sierra to High Sierra but not sure if it related. I thought it might be a random crash so I created a brand new session with one stereo audio track and one master fader. Nothing else. As soon as I tried to instantiate Ozone5 , Protools crashes. Sig file identifies the machine except that I am now running 10.13.3 High Sierra

What gives?

TIA Brian
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. PT 2019.6. Mac OS 10.13.3 RME UFX and lots of noisemaking stuff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:20 AM
Audiofarm Audiofarm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ʎɐʍɹou
Posts: 205
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Ozone 5? from 2012? Really?? Reinstall Sierra if you want to use it then.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,122
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by b mcgibney View Post
What gives?
You said it yourself; as soon as you instantiate your outdated plugin, PT crashes. Pretty sure nothing else is wrong except that. Update your plugin and expect to solve your mystery.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2019, 08:25 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 582
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Well two things i found out today,

I have another ssd with the same OS and PT and Ozone works fine on that drive and furthermore numerous folks on the web claim to have no problem running ozone 5 in PT with High Sierra. The mystery deepens.

Brian
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. PT 2019.6. Mac OS 10.13.3 RME UFX and lots of noisemaking stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2019, 09:36 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 582
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Well I correct myself again. I can open a session in high sierra that was made before I upgraded to high sierra and ozone runs fine. I just can't create new instantiations of OZONe 5. I threw a HD with Sierra and PT back in the machine and its works properly so I guess have to roll back. I have CCC so it should be ok. Getting near the end of the line for the old cheesgrater I guess....
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. PT 2019.6. Mac OS 10.13.3 RME UFX and lots of noisemaking stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2019, 03:31 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,122
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Wouldn't it be easier to update the plugin?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2019, 05:02 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,670
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Wouldn't it be easier to update the plugin?
What he said. Ozone 9 is $199 and probably cheaper being the OP already has Ozone 5. Login to your iZotope account and check it out. Not sure but I think you can have both versions of Ozone on the same machine - I know I have RX6 and RX7 on my cheesegrater in OSX 10.13.6
And update to OSX 10.13.6 via the combo updater.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2019, 07:45 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 582
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Izotope got back to me and confirmed Ozone Advanced 5 and High Sierra do not play together. Apparently some folks are having it work but it is not supported.


Well I reverted back to Sierra on one of my drives and mostly all good. On one of my High sierra drives and downloaded Ozone Advanced 9. That works fine. One of the things that always bugged me about post Ozone 5 was they got rid of the reverb which I quite liked. Also I have dozens of saved presets.

So moving on, for those who have used Ozone 5 and have moved to Ozone 9, is it worth it?. I'm now a pensioner and and just a hobbyist so it is all about spending my "mad money" as wisely as possible. Thanks everyone
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. PT 2019.6. Mac OS 10.13.3 RME UFX and lots of noisemaking stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2019, 07:53 PM
sdelsolray sdelsolray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 158
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Yeah, I didn't like the iZotope deleted the reverb module when going from Ozone 5 to Ozone 6. That being said, it was not the best reverb on the block by any measure.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2019, 09:53 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 582
Default Re: Ozone 5 crashing PT 2019.5

Probably not but you could hear it in the context of everything else you were doing in the plug in
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. PT 2019.6. Mac OS 10.13.3 RME UFX and lots of noisemaking stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating from 2019 .5 to 2019.6? ihate100bees Pro Tools 2019 13 07-04-2019 09:30 AM
iZotope Ozone 8 and Neutron 2 Crashing Pro Tools. TOM@METRO AAX Plug-ins 14 03-31-2019 02:50 PM
Update for Ozone 5 and Ozone 5 Advanced gives Pro Tools 10 1 11-27-2011 09:02 PM
Izotope Ozone 3 crashing Pro Tools 7 pcombs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-15-2006 07:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com