Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2019, 11:21 PM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 447
Default How to batch rename the audio file/region names?

Hi there,
So in a session file, I know how to batch re-name the audio region names. But it seems that only rename the name within PT, on the hard drive in the audio folder the name still remains the same for the actual audio file.
Is there a way to batch rename actual audio file name and also the name inside PT session and still keep in link?

Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2019, 12:00 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: How to batch rename the audio file/region names?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockman413 View Post
Hi there,
So in a session file, I know how to batch re-name the audio region names. But it seems that only rename the name within PT, on the hard drive in the audio folder the name still remains the same for the actual audio file.
Is there a way to batch rename actual audio file name and also the name inside PT session and still keep in link?

Thanks
Not in one go.
Batch rename is batch rename clips. Not files. That's a distinction.

This is something I've been hounding them about to allow both.

What you have to do is batch rename clips first and then while everything is selected still, press the key command to rename multiple clips (on Mac that is shift+command+r). Then hit return for every clip name that pops up. That transfers the clip name you put in during step one to the file. It's tedious if you have to do a lot because Pro Tools isn't fast about moving on to the next clip name after you hit return.

(Also, just a reminder, if those clips aren't actually files then the name still won't change. Only clips that are actually files will take the name. Same as if you are renaming a single clip the old fashioned way.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2019, 09:41 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,642
Default Re: How to batch rename the audio file/region names?

Shile Pro Tools' batch rename utility is powerful, this limitation means I usually still use a Keyboard Maestro script to batch append cue/song numbers, version numbers, strip characters, etc...
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2019, 10:15 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 447
Default Re: How to batch rename the audio file/region names?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Not in one go.
Batch rename is batch rename clips. Not files. That's a distinction.

This is something I've been hounding them about to allow both.

What you have to do is batch rename clips first and then while everything is selected still, press the key command to rename multiple clips (on Mac that is shift+command+r). Then hit return for every clip name that pops up. That transfers the clip name you put in during step one to the file. It's tedious if you have to do a lot because Pro Tools isn't fast about moving on to the next clip name after you hit return.

(Also, just a reminder, if those clips aren't actually files then the name still won't change. Only clips that are actually files will take the name. Same as if you are renaming a single clip the old fashioned way.)
Works for me ! Thanks a lot.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rename Audio Region and File - where go? smc917 macOS 2 09-16-2011 10:54 AM
Batch-copy region-names to BWAV meta-data? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 28 07-08-2010 01:51 AM
PT 8 | Auto Rename only Re-Names last selected file 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 01-19-2009 03:03 PM
How can I "batch" export each region as separate audio file? Screenery Tips & Tricks 1 05-03-2008 11:12 PM
Batch rename file types? jonnyrocker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-22-2006 04:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com