Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2011, 09:54 AM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 221
Default HD Native Question

I enjoyed the Frank Filipetti webinar yesterday. Does HD Native really sound as good as Frank was raving about, compared to PT9 w/an 002r?

A 2nd question: Has there been any progress making PT9HD any friendlier toward Mac OS 10.6.8?
__________________
Ron Stephens <>X
ron@stephensfam.net
MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM, macOS 10.11.6, Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, Native HD PCIe, Omni.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2011, 11:07 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,329
Default Re: HD Native Question

Using first class converters RTAS has always sounded at least as good if not better than TDM depending on what you are doing.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2011, 03:07 PM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 221
Default Re: HD Native Question

Bump?

No 002/003 upgraders to Native that want to share their experience?
__________________
Ron Stephens <>X
ron@stephensfam.net
MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM, macOS 10.11.6, Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, Native HD PCIe, Omni.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2011, 05:26 PM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 221
Default Re: HD Native Question

OK - now that I've bought & installed the HD Native card & Omni, I'll answer my own question.

It sounds WAYYYYY better.
__________________
Ron Stephens <>X
ron@stephensfam.net
MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM, macOS 10.11.6, Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, Native HD PCIe, Omni.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2011, 11:23 PM
ripekeai ripekeai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 148
Default Re: HD Native Question

Really? Just playing back sessions you already had or are you tracking? Can you attribute the results to the card at all or simply your new converters?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2011, 05:25 AM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: HD Native Question

Didn't see the full video

For playback, the mix bus is 64 bit float on HD|Native.

This article speaks about the architecture of Pro Tools. Although its old its relevant.
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jun1...es/pt_0610.htm

Internal clipping aside, I'd have to think the higher precision mix bus has be goodness wrapped in chocolate sauce.

To question 2: Shrug. Dunno sorry.

Mike.
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2011, 07:53 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronstephens View Post
I enjoyed the Frank Filipetti webinar yesterday. Does HD Native really sound as good as Frank was raving about, compared to PT9 w/an 002r?

A 2nd question: Has there been any progress making PT9HD any friendlier toward Mac OS 10.6.8?
If the selling point is 'it sounds better than an 002' then that's a little worrying. I used a 002R for many years, it was a solid piece of kit but IMHO the pre's and converters were average and the DAC was terrible

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2011, 09:08 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: HD Native Question

Give the recent shootout of the new 192 versus symphony I'd say it sounds way better than the 002.

But it is an interesting comparison when it seems like they want the old 002-003 owners to shell out 6K for HD Native.

Sounds like a research poll went bad.

Carl
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2011, 09:37 PM
lancejorton lancejorton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 446
Default Re: HD Native Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob olhsson View Post
using first class converters rtas has always sounded at least as good if not better than tdm depending on what you are doing.
fact!
__________________
--
lance
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2011, 10:12 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: HD Native Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
But it is an interesting comparison when it seems like they want the old 002-003 owners to shell out 6K for HD Native.
You need to find a new dealer if they're quoting you $6k for HD Native.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for those that have used HDX and HD/Native albee1952 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 13 09-05-2013 08:05 PM
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 09:48 AM
Question about HD Native Psychonaut4 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 8 04-01-2011 01:48 AM
HD Native question stanonbass Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 10-07-2010 01:14 PM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com