Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2019, 09:50 AM
pablormago pablormago is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Madrid
Posts: 5
Default Internet Sharing on Mac with PT Control problem

Hi to all, so the thing is:

We are making a wifi hotspot with the Internet Sharing option in Mojave.

If we put the Wifi adaptor ip to DHCP the PTControl dont works.
If we put it on Manual, and set the Wifi Ip to 192.168.2.1 and the subnet to 255.255.255.0 it WORKS.

The problem is that when we reboot the Mac it does not works, we have to put it on Dhcp and then to manual again to let the PTControl works.

Any idea???

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2019, 11:13 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Internet Sharing on Mac with PT Control problem

Assign the iPad a static IP address of the 192.168.2.xxx format. You do this on the iPad in general settings when it is already working with the computer. Only have to do this once.

What's happening is your iPad is on DHCP so it needs an address. If you reboot your Mac, it loses its address. When you put it on DHCP it regains an address. Then when you put the Mac in manual, the iPad has an address to use on the same address octet as the Mac.

Giving the iPad a static iP means it doesn't need the Mac's DHCP to get one.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2019, 11:31 AM
pablormago pablormago is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Madrid
Posts: 5
Default Re: Internet Sharing on Mac with PT Control problem

Still not working.

Everytime I reboot the Mac, i need to chance the wifi IP to other in the same range and apply... Example: From 193.168.2.1 to 192.168.2.4

I attach the wifi config on mac and ipad.

Thanks in advance

Enviado desde mi SM-G950F mediante Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2019, 12:36 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Internet Sharing on Mac with PT Control problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by pablormago View Post
Still not working.

Everytime I reboot the Mac, i need to change the wifi IP to other in the same range and apply... Example: From 193.168.2.1 to 192.168.2.4
Which Wifi IP? On the Mac or on the iPad? The iPad's wifi connection parameters should be attached to the SSID of the wifi it connects to. So if the Mac doesn't change its SSID name for its hotspot, the manual setting should stick when the iPad connects.

Is it changing itself to automatic DHCP on the iPad?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2019, 11:49 AM
pablormago pablormago is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Madrid
Posts: 5
Default Re: Internet Sharing on Mac with PT Control problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Which Wifi IP? On the Mac or on the iPad? The iPad's wifi connection parameters should be attached to the SSID of the wifi it connects to. So if the Mac doesn't change its SSID name for its hotspot, the manual setting should stick when the iPad connects.

Is it changing itself to automatic DHCP on the iPad?
I mean i have to change the wifi adapter ip on the mac, and then it works again...

Mac and ipad are on Manual for their IP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
App does not work with internet sharing LukeHoward Pro Tools | Control 1 09-18-2015 03:11 AM
Internet Sharing Large Files/Folders? wdjudd Pro Tools 10 6 01-28-2013 05:37 PM
sharing sessions across the internet.... evon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-28-2010 11:32 AM
Control 24 sharing between 2 computers Table Syrup Records ICON & C|24 7 11-11-2008 03:18 AM
Can I use the internet and the control 24 at the Brandonx1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-15-2005 06:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com