Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2000, 01:58 PM
JT916 JT916 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: CA
Posts: 108
Default praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

Ok, I am praying really hard for the Mac Expo which is coming up next week in SF. Steve Job please do not waste your time with those stupid cube design. Give us a dual G4/5 with 6 slot...please.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2000, 03:34 PM
Gulliver Gulliver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 548
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

With Apple's stock being as low as it is, you just might see a prototype. Unfortunately, I think it will be some time before it hits the streets. A little Vaporware might be good for Wall Street.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2000, 04:34 PM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

I'd like to see Faster MACs like 700 or 900mhz none of this Dual cover-up speed stuff.
and 6 slots would be cool

------------------
LCSProductions@att.net
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

[This message has been edited by Dog BBQ (edited December 31, 2000).]
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2001, 01:43 AM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

I'm not sure what the big deal is about having a six slot mac.

I have a Mix Plus system (two slots)
and a UW SCSI Card (third slot)

I get 64 tracks and a decent amount of room for my plug ins.

Now that PT5.1 will support TDM & RTAS plug ins, wouldn't it just be cheaper to buy a newer faster mac than buying the overpriced digicards.

Just curious.

PS Don't tell digi or they'll take that feature off of 5.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2001, 03:02 AM
Pietari Koskinen Pietari Koskinen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 259
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

Produceher,

Where do you put your video capture card?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2001, 01:40 PM
Bryan Bryan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 474
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

six slots would not be enough...most of us who need more than three would need an expansion chasis regardless (in light of the complete system price they are _not_ expensive).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2001, 03:59 PM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

I have a 9600/350 with a Newer G3 500/250 card installed. Mix plus (2 pci slots) adaptek UW SCSI (one slot) Miro DC 30 plus (one slot) and an ixmicro dual monitor card (one slot). That's 5 slots with one extra to spare! My system is working pretty smoothe with OS 8.6 and Pro Tools 5.01

Now let's see...hmmmmm..what could I put in that 6th slot....perhaps some more DSP? Any suggestions?

I'm thinking of switching over to Windows NT if I ever buy another computer (sacrilage AAAHHHH you say) well Apple better get on the ball cause I read so many posts about all these expensive expansion chassis, stealth port and mid interface stuff, etc. that I am seriously considering.........changing platforms!!

PLEASE TALK ME OUT OF IT!

Any thoughts?

Happy New Year to all!

------------------
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, C A 90048
www.boomchic.com
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2001, 04:21 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Boom Chic:
I'm thinking of switching over to Windows NT if I ever buy another computer (sacrilage AAAHHHH you say) well Apple better get on the ball cause I read so many posts about all these expensive expansion chassis, stealth port and mid interface stuff, etc. that I am seriously considering.........changing platforms!!

PLEASE TALK ME OUT OF IT!

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Karen, just took a look at your homepage, come on guys, check it out and help me out here, : http://www.ioproductions.com/boomchic/index.html

Now, with such a nice place going, 2 flatscreens (I'm jealous) the only VALID reason I can think of buying a windows machine is for the little kid on the couch,..... realy, you say it yourself you have a nice system running blablabla ...... why change platforms (except from win to mac ofcourse )

quote Bryan : (in light of the complete system price they are _not_ expensive). The expansion chassis that is ........... and they can carry you along over several computer changes.



------------------
Chris Lambrechts
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2001, 08:07 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

Need a way to talk yourself out of it?

If you're planning on sticking with a Digi Mix+ system, just take a minute and visit the Windows troubleshooting section here on the DUC.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2001, 09:16 PM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Re: praying for 6 slot at Mac expo

Lee,

Point taken. There was all of 1 that's one post in the last 5 days on the Windows NT troubleshooting DUC! Is there anyone using the Windows NT Pro Tools? Seems Mac is THE choice.



------------------
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, C A 90048
www.boomchic.com
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pensado Vintage King Gear Expo | PT 11 | July 20th 2013 marianna Pro Tools 11 0 07-16-2013 12:22 PM
OT: apple expo paris 2005 ilulilu888 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-23-2005 08:12 AM
Macworld Expo Prediction WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-06-2002 12:08 AM
Slot Order for PTHD5.3.1 + AV Option 5.3.1 + Magma Chassis 13-Slot + PowerMac G4 AGP Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-27-2002 11:39 AM
news from Digidesign - XP-( Por tools HD expo latin america) EDurney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 06-13-2002 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com