Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-29-2018, 09:47 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,547
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
snip . . . There is a 97 samples delay when I work at 96k. Is there any way to turn off the delay so it's latency free?
Command plus Control plus Click on the Delay Compensation number in the Mix Window. Does that do it?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-29-2018, 11:00 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
Command plus Control plus Click on the Delay Compensation number in the Mix Window. Does that do it?
Thanks. But that only disables delay compensation for that track. It doesn't remove the delay in the plugin.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-29-2018, 11:24 AM
pmcculloch pmcculloch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

@chrisdee: are you asking whether you can have a predelay of 0 ms?

The promotional prices are good through the end of the month, I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-29-2018, 10:33 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcculloch View Post
@chrisdee: are you asking whether you can have a predelay of 0 ms?

The promotional prices are good through the end of the month, I believe.
The plugin adds a latency when i insert it on a channel. Im asking if its possible to disable this so i get zero latency?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-29-2018, 11:10 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Don't all plugins add latency? Some more than others, but it's the cost of processing the signal.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-30-2018, 02:38 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Don't all plugins add latency? Some more than others, but it's the cost of processing the signal.

No. Most of my plugins have zero latency. Many plugins does have a latency. Some more than others. I try to avoid plugins with latency since I work with arangement and recording. Multiple plugins with latency adds up and affects performance and timing when recording.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-30-2018, 08:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,586
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Don't all plugins add latency? Some more than others, but it's the cost of processing the signal.
In a DSP world, yes. But if we're talking about native plugin processing, it all happens within native playback buffer (or if it doesn't happen, spikes an error).

Some plugins however, whether DSP or native, are designed to produce latency by their nature. Take a look-ahead limiter for example; you cannot see the next sample before it happens, so you need to delay the signal to at least one sample (in case processing is zero-latency otherwise) to be able to process with that look-ahead design. This latency is something any buffer cannot ever compensate.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-30-2018, 10:53 AM
pmcculloch pmcculloch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
No. Most of my plugins have zero latency. Many plugins does have a latency. Some more than others. I try to avoid plugins with latency since I work with arangement and recording. Multiple plugins with latency adds up and affects performance and timing when recording.
I can understand your desire to avoid latency, but zero latency is not possible here because the plugin resamples the wet path to operate the algorithm at the original SP2016 sample rate (~39 kHz). This is a key aspect of the sound, but it requires some latency. The older plugins are able to have less latency because they don't do this, but it's also why they don't sound as close to the original.

If you're concerned primarily about latency on the dry signal, running the effect on a send will, of course, help, though it's not quite the same as having no latency.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-30-2018, 11:54 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,238
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Inserting on a send will still add latency when recording but if you don't mind having extra pre delay you can turn off ADC for the send channel.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-31-2018, 12:41 PM
pmcculloch pmcculloch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: (NEW) Eventide SP2016 Reverb Plugin

Just as a heads up, the promotional prices for SP2016 Reverb have officially been extended to 11:59 PM EST, November 5, 2018.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eventide Reverb AAX JFreak AAX Plug-ins 25 08-28-2014 11:45 PM
Eventide Reverb opinions soul Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-16-2010 10:40 AM
Eventide Reverb lifer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 03-15-2010 02:37 AM
OT. Eventide Reverb GS-DK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 03-07-2010 12:21 AM
eventide reverb is here Belushiman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-12-2004 07:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com