Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2019, 07:30 PM
soundartsonline soundartsonline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: US
Posts: 137
Default Not in love with Protools 12

First let me thank Jack on this forum (Thanks Jack!) for telling me about Carbon Copy Cloner. Thanks to you I saved my projects that I had done in 11 all on an external hard drive clone PRIOR to upgrading to Protools 12 and High Sierra on the main drive.

Now I'm scratching my head asking myself, why didn't I just keep everything in 11 and forget about 12. It's been a complete and utter headache to deal with. Can't get Real Guitar working. I ended up just rebooting onto the external clone and I'm working from there.

Warning!!!! Before upgrading to anything, please make sure you keep a backup like I did of all of your files and older version of Protools and whatever else you need in case you have to revert back to the earlier version.

You just will not know what to expect in the newer version of Protools or updated Mac OS until you've made the change.

I'm tired of all the issues. I just want to write music without any technical problems wasting so much of my time. I'm guessing there may be a few of you who are reading this who can relate to what I'm saying....

Thank you again Jack!!!!

Lisa:)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2019, 03:34 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,066
Default Re: Not in love with Protools 12

No problem.
Always good to have backups/clones for just such times.
Funny thing is right now I'm doing my weekly backups/clones of both my daw and after I finish typing this my internet/email/Photoshop machine. Part of my regular Friday morning routine
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2019, 08:09 AM
radcliff radcliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 7
Default Re: Not in love with Protools 12

Same here constant startup issues and technical BS
Only app on my setup that moans every time about something. I wont start most of the time so I give up on it. Dont think il upgrade at all as this is just a poorly designed buggy DAW.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2019, 10:22 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,667
Default Re: Not in love with Protools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundartsonline View Post
FCan't get Real Guitar working. I ended up just rebooting onto the external clone and I'm working from there.
This is a Pro Tools First board? You can't run Real Guitar on Pro Tools First 12 and up. Only plugins bought through Avid's store.

Pro Tools First is the free "DAW" -- it isn't actually like real Pro Tools (so much stuff is missing).
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2019, 05:58 AM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 122
Default Re: Not in love with Protools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by radcliff View Post
....this is just a poorly designed buggy DAW.
There are many thousands of users having no issues (or very few) including me.

I actually think it is amazingly designed and is indispensable for my work flow.

If it was poorly designed and buggy I wouldn't use it every day for projects upon which I depend for my living.

We might be able to help if you want top discuss the issues you are having and what your setup is.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7970 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2019, 01:05 PM
radcliff radcliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 7
Default Re: Not in love with Protools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by lae777 View Post
If it was poorly designed and buggy I wouldn't use it every day for projects upon which I depend for my living.
All software has bugs, Pro Tools Included. Pro-Tools-Release-Notes

I'm sure when it works its great but as an intro to Pro Tools through PT First I found it a bit disappointing as mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2019, 05:56 AM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 122
Default Re: Not in love with Protools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by radcliff View Post
All software has bugs, Pro Tools Included. Pro-Tools-Release-Notes

I'm sure when it works its great but as an intro to Pro Tools through PT First I found it a bit disappointing as mentioned.
Fair enough.
When you have a good stable system it is great, so if you want to try and resolve your issues please let us know and we will do our best to help you.
It's worth it, I promise!
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7970 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Things i love about ProTools... JuanPC Tips & Tricks 0 01-15-2016 08:22 AM
Love Protools 8!!!!!!!!! Grid Love Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-28-2008 06:14 AM
Who here would love ProTools to accept mp2's? ddotbach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-01-2007 02:28 AM
I love protools 7, BUT... pabothecat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-27-2006 11:09 AM
I LOVE ProTools, but I might have to let it go.... Valentino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-09-2004 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com