Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-30-2020, 08:25 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,955
Default Re: Mac Pro 2013 10 or 12 Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
I relied on similar info when I bought my factory spec 8 core. Hard to tell whether that info was borne out in practice as it's the only trashcan I have so have no direct comparison. I think if running as many (non-VI) AAX Native plugins as possible then the 12 core is the machine for you - I premixed a show recently where the template had been setup on a 12 core and it wouldn't reliably run on my 8 core.

Pete
Hi Pete That is pretty telling when it will not run on your 8 core, but was ok on the 12 core. Any chance it was RAM related or do you have lots of RAM?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I am using a 10 core in my trash can. It’s a great machine, but I feel like the question is over baking the cake a little bit. Particularly between the 10 and 12 core CPU, there is less than 2% difference in benchmarks.
Hi I certainly agree with your comment to not sweat 2%. Which benchmarks are you referring to? I am not finding any performance data for our world, and system benchmarks, such as geekbench are more in the 20% difference range. . . I have had many problems with my 2012 mac pro and native/VIs. . . so I am just dotting i's and crossing t's. . . that apprehension, plus there just does not seem to be any real test info out there, makes me think others are in the same boat, so I thought it would be good to try and dig up some info. Google is not finding much out there in this regard.

The overhead of managing cores can be a significant hit to performance in real time processing. . . so more is not always more. Not doubting anyones comments, just wish there was some real data/bench marks for reference.

Thanks guys!
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-31-2020, 01:31 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,206
Default Re: Mac Pro 2013 10 or 12 Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardk View Post
Hi Pete That is pretty telling when it will not run on your 8 core, but was ok on the 12 core. Any chance it was RAM related or do you have lots of RAM?
64GB RAM and the session was completely cached so it was definitely a processor power issue.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-02-2020, 08:29 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,955
Default Re: Mac Pro 2013 10 or 12 Core?

Found this thread:
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=400384

Sounds like the 10 core is able to remain at its peak single core performance even when all cores are working hard, likely because it does not readily throttle back due to heat (my uneducated statement).

I am taking the dive:
eBay 10 Core Processor
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)

Last edited by Howardk; 11-02-2020 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-10-2020, 08:38 AM
Flyingrockstudios Flyingrockstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Utah, United States
Posts: 45
Default Re: Mac Pro 2013 10 or 12 Core?

I recently upgraded my Trash can from 6 core to 12 core CPU. I did it myself, which was not quite as easy as I thought. I also upgraded RAM from 32 to 64 GB. I did notice improvements all the way around, especially using Native plug ins(I have 1 HDX card). On the VI side I have to freeze tracks less often, but playing VI’s for recording at lower buffer rates below 256 is hit and miss depending in the VI. I even spread my VI’s over 2 external Thunderbolt 2 external drives instead of one hoping to improve VI performance. I think now my bottle neck for the VI’s are the drives. I think they should be SSD’s as the platters just can’t always deliver the samples fast enough. Maybe PT 2020.11 will help with its supposed optimize CPU newly added feature?
__________________
PT 2020.5 Ultimate HDX, Dual Slate Raven MTi2, HD IO 16x16, Mac Pro 6.1 2013, Focal Solo Be6, Roland V-Drums, DW drums, too many VI’s and plug ins to mention
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-12-2020, 07:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,324
Default Re: Mac Pro 2013 10 or 12 Core?

10-core is great (slightly better than 12-core at singlecore, slightly worse at multicore) but as Apple has never sold them on MP you need to do the CPU swap yourself and it is not the easiest job
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade my 6 core 2013 MacPro to a 12 core, or get a new 6 core when released? jaminjamesp macOS 2 03-15-2019 04:26 PM
2013 6,1 12 core mac pro Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 07-28-2017 05:58 PM
Apple Mac Pro Late 2013 3.5 GHz 6-Core Webb Buy & Sell 1 07-10-2017 10:05 AM
Anyone using the Late 2013 Quad-Core Mac Pro? Jcalla macOS 18 08-22-2015 03:07 PM
Pt 11/12 mac pro 2013 12 core 2.7ghz RayCervenka Pro Tools 12 1 04-20-2015 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com