Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-26-2021, 12:06 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,109
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
solution may end up being an adapter of some kind to convert to a USB stream(hopefully USB3).
I wonder how this would affect latency and sound quality?
Wouldn’t going through an adapter mean more latency and maby signal degredation?

I would imagine direct support would be the best solution?

Maby it would be possible to add a DigiLink or thunderbolt connection to Carbon instead of waiting for Windows to support AVB?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-26-2021, 12:11 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,109
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ts1234 View Post
Thanks. Kind of what I expected. They must be losing a lot of $$$'s over this...about 4K just from me .
+1. Im eagerly waiting for some news about Carbon support for Windows.
But unfortunately there is nothing yet.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-26-2021, 10:21 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,415
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

I've been using an ASIX USB 3 to Gigabit Ethernet adaptor with Waves SoundGrid which is a similar approach to Carbon.

I suspect Microsoft may be working on a native AVB driver. If so, it would make sense for Avid to wait for it rather than developing their own which might easily turn out to be incompatible.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-26-2021, 10:57 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,969
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
I suspect Microsoft may be working on a native AVB driver.
That would be nice.

An interesting article I had come across a few weeks ago: https://aka.ms/Win10AudioTweakGuide

Part II specifically mentions Windows not having AVB support, "AVB: Windows does not currently have in-box support for AVB. Most AVB interfaces also support USB or Thunderbolt connections to a PC."

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-26-2021, 01:40 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,415
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

AVB has far broader uses than just audio interfaces. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_Video_Bridging
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-26-2021, 03:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,463
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
AVB has far broader uses than just audio interfaces. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_Video_Bridging
Now if we can only get it to work for us Windows users...................
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:10 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,415
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

I can't imagine Micro$oft isn't working on it.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-26-2021, 09:45 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,109
Default Re: Carbon and Windows 10?

I just tried to Google AVB support in Windows 10 but there doesn’t seem to be any news the last 2-3 years.
Latest i found was from 2019.

Maby I’m searching wrong?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools | Carbon Avid Technical Alerts 0 11-12-2020 03:14 PM
Cocoa or Carbon? Drew Mazurek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-17-2003 09:45 AM
OS X Carbon error Armando 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-26-2001 03:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com