Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2011, 01:00 PM
anotherchrisperry anotherchrisperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 19
Default is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

Anyone else have this problem?

When working on a mix with a system delay of say 3500 samples, any automation that I touch with MC mix or Cntrl faders (say riding a vocal) is offset against the actual audio—ie. delayed to where i actually "heard" the audio and reacted to it.

Another way to explain: If i write mute automation on the downbeats of bars via the ON button of the mc mix (as I hear the downbeats go by) my mute automation is about 7000 samples late in my current session, which has a system delay of 3384, running the long ADC on 9.0.1 w/ Eucon HD2 MacPro 10.6.4

Any solutions? Kind of hard to write automation when it's not writing to the right place!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2011, 02:31 AM
soundworx soundworx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 209
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

I've mentioned this before in another post! I'm glad someone else noticed it. It's probably less noticable if you do music, but I'm in post
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2011, 08:57 AM
anotherchrisperry anotherchrisperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 19
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

Oh it's noticeable in music as well!

Solutions anyone? thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2011, 03:39 PM
RicardoEscallon RicardoEscallon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bogota, DC, Colombia
Posts: 118
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

It is driving me crazy too. Automation moves are always late.
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2011, 05:21 PM
zoundsabar zoundsabar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 89
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

Does any other mixer soft or hardware do this? It does seem like it might be a nice feature.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2011, 10:11 PM
Sam H Sam H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

I use my artist series units with Nuendo and I must say I havent yet encountered this issue - I use UAD cards which can have a large delay too....

Possibly it is that the life of Eucon is much further along in development than the shiny new PT9 - but I will check into it as I have both DAW's.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2012, 07:26 AM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

Same exact behavior here on PT HD 9.0.6 when writing volume automation via my C24. I can hardly believe this problem has been around for this long with no solution -- there are posts regarding this going back years. . . .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-14-2012, 11:43 AM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

Quote:
Originally Posted by anotherchrisperry View Post
When working on a mix with a system delay of say 3500 samples, any automation that I touch with MC mix or Cntrl faders (say riding a vocal) is offset against the actual audio—ie. delayed to where i actually "heard" the audio and reacted to it.
What DAW are you using ?

(sorry if I missed that)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2012, 09:18 AM
anotherchrisperry anotherchrisperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 19
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

pro tools 10.2 HD
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-20-2012, 06:33 AM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: is there "delay compensation" for writing automation via faders??

So, help me understand here, people. Does NOBODY use their controllers to writer fader automation? Is that why this doesn't concern anyone? Nor concern Avid? I'm just not understanding why this behavior isn't more well-known. It'd seem to me that if you're spending $10K+ for a C24, ICON, etc, you'd probably, at least at some point, if not all the time, draw in a fader ride via the controller and find that it just doesn't work properly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay Compensation in "Playback Engine"? RokVox Pro Tools 11 8 09-11-2013 12:38 PM
Import session data... please break out "plug in settings" and "plug in automation" yeloocevad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 10-05-2011 02:04 PM
Problem with "delay compensation" cozy_man Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 09-26-2011 02:52 AM
HUI Faders seem "sticky" when writing automation marcuspardomix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-10-2005 07:20 PM
MLCD Locks at writing "Lead Out" El Guapo Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 09-21-2001 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com