Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-08-2005, 06:08 AM

Default Newbie about to build a workstation for 002R

Hi Everybody, this forum is a great resource thanks to you guys!

I'm a newbie too and am about to purchase a 002R and build a workstation for it. I have some doubts:

- If I buy dual core processor what would be the procedure: Disable the dual processing and install PT LE as it comes (6.9.x),
then upgrade to PT7 and enable the dual processing?

- Any thoughts on the Asus A8N-SLI mobos? That one vs A8N-E?

- I believe the A8N-E doesn't have Firewire interface (at least I can't find that spec on Asus website). Are A8N-E users installing
a PCI FW interface to connect the oo2R and any FW External drive?

- Out of curiosity, how is PT able to recognize a hardware based RAID?

- Which AMD ATHLON 64 X2 do you recommend, Toledo or Manchester?

- Does PT take full advantage of having 2GB RAM instead of 1GB?

Thanks,
Ricardo
Old 11-08-2005, 11:50 PM

Default Re: Newbie about to build a workstation for 002R

bump
Old 11-09-2005, 01:53 AM

- If I buy dual core processor what would be the procedure: Disable the dual processing and install PT LE as it comes (6.9.x), then upgrade to PT7 and enable the dual processing?

ans: if you use 6.9 with a dual core you need to set processor affinity to a single core for the protools.exe task, with PT7 the dual core issue is irrelevant.

- Any thoughts on the Asus A8N-SLI mobos? That one vs A8N-E?

ans: I'm sure Allen Hallada, and Rail will have a better opinion on this shortly.
All I can say is that my SLI board works (Asus A8N-SLI Premium) but I am of the understanding that the SLI boards are unproven at this time.