Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Old 12-27-2010, 07:15 PM

Default Guitar recording problem

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to the recording world. I recently bought a 003 rack+factory, and install PTLE 8.04 (windows 7)
this is my first post.

well, I reached several problems while recording.

1- I directly connected my mesa boogie triple rectifier to my 003 (no mic), and try to record some parts which have distortion on it. the results- the signal is to high, and sounds bad.

a friend talked to my about radial line boxes, as equipment to solve this problem. so, I just wanted to know your opinion guys, and advises.

i am a noob, but ready to learn

i recorded voices, bass, drums and everything went nice.

thanks for your time

sorry if this is a stupid question.
Old 12-27-2010, 11:01 PM

Default Re: Guitar recording problem

People are probably going to have a problems recommending things without knowing a bit more about what you want to acheive.

You connected what to the 003? slave amp out? FX send out? Cab out?

If you have the microphones and are able (for example) to record drums OK why not stick a microphone in front of the cab and record all the distortion you like (preamp, power amp, speaker and cabinet distortion).

Are you deliberately after only the preamp distortion or some other reason you just did not mic the amp? Did you ask your friend why he recommend a DI box vs. just using a mic like above?

Darryl
Old 12-28-2010, 12:41 AM

I believe unless you have guitar amp modeler like Eleven Rack, POD HD, Axe FX, only way to record guitar direct is reamping technique.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acH1VsvWXJs&feature=fvw
Old 12-28-2010, 01:39 AM

Location: Current: Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Hails from: San Francisco