Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2003, 06:54 AM
blankpro blankpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 153
Default Using Mezzo to archive and restore

I am using Mezzo to archive to AIT tape.

My question is for those who are archiving projects, and then restoring them later, adding changes, and so on.

If I archive by dragging the project over, that's great. owevber, in my woirk i create multiple projects of the same audio files - various mixes, versions, etc. How does this work? Does Mezzo make multiple backups of my audiofiles? Or does it
'look up' the files in the project that is created?

The reason for this is obvious - I can't afford multigigs of projects for each song I make.

How do you do it?

Does the original project become the basis for all others? Do you need to drag each ptools project over each time into the folder?

Thanx in advance for the insight....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2003, 09:15 AM
gandalf07 gandalf07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 54
Default Re: Using Mezzo to archive and restore

Hi,

Mezzo is supposly Session Wise but....

It works best when you drag the complete folder of your session, it will then see the session files and scan them, but the Audio Files will be backed-up only once.

Anyway, version 3.8 works better than the 4.x
__________________
SA Amin
THC Sound & Music
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2003, 09:18 AM
B. Summerfield B. Summerfield is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Shawville QC
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using Mezzo to archive and restore

Mezzo will only back up audio files one time for multipule sessions, you do have to drag and drop the new versions of your session to the project window. If you move that session to another drive mexxo will consider it a new session and do a complete backup of all the files again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2003, 12:38 PM
blankpro blankpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 153
Default Re: Using Mezzo to archive and restore

ok, I understand that.

What I'm trying to do is have folders in mezzo for each song. in each folder will be multiple Protools sessions. When I drag a new verison of my mix to Mezzo, it makes that ptools icon into another project.

The problem is that I want to be able to see justa list of the projects in mezzo - I archive them and number tham so I would rather see

001
002
003

rather than

001
multi
voc
test
002
split
remix


etc
etc....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mezzo Restore - from Exabyte ?? jeremiahmoore Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 09-04-2017 10:38 AM
Help with MEZZO restore chuckbutler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 62 02-03-2014 12:26 AM
Mezzo Restore - from Exabyte alex weber Post - Surround - Video 3 06-07-2011 10:45 PM
Mezzo Restore - from Exabyte jeremiahmoore Post - Surround - Video 3 08-27-2010 01:12 PM
Audio File Droputs after Mezzo restore John Mad Anthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-28-2006 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com