Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2002, 08:00 AM
fathermac101 fathermac101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 94
Default How do I open a protools PC project on a Mac?

My client didn't use the force PC/Mac compatablility option...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2002, 06:35 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: How do I open a protools PC project on a Mac?

The only way is for your client to go back to their system and make a copy of the session file:
-Open the session using PT 5.1 (or later)
-Choose File>Save Session Copy In
-Enable "Enforce Mac/PC compatibility"
-Click "Save" (no need to copy all audio and fade files since Pro Tools for Mac OS is compatible with both AIFF and WAV files)

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2002, 02:50 PM
letrev's Avatar
letrev letrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Staten Island, NY US
Posts: 558
Default Re: How do I open a protools PC project on a Mac?

You should also install the Joliet extension (see the digi 3rd party utility and drivers page). This utility translates the filename convention differences between PC and Mac. Without it, when you open a session the mac won't recognize the names of the audio files.
__________________
************
Steven Vertel
Mixing / Mastering Engineer
High Rock Records & Studio
NYC

http://highrockrecords.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open 6.4 project mooneh Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 05-18-2009 11:02 AM
protools le project to open in protools hd sytem? milesandjules Post - Surround - Video 4 10-05-2005 08:43 AM
How to open a Protools project without Protools? Dr Hannibal Lecter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 09-09-2004 11:04 AM
Can't open project jormaggio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-05-2003 02:50 PM
Open a Mac Project on a PC HOW? TallCat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 10-06-2003 02:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com