Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-14-2019, 07:55 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,273
Default Re: Eleven Rack direct monitoring always on

I merged multiple threads that all seem to be about the same thing - Eleven Rack's input doesn't mute when opening a session.

I repro'd this on my iMac with driver 1.2.13 and confirmed that 1.2.12 works properly. avid.force.com/pkb/articles/download/Eleven-Rack-Drivers

Went through the posts here to make sure a support case is logged for each user. If you are experiencing this and don't have a case open please start one or reply to this thread and state your Operating System and Eleven Rack driver versions.

Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-23-2019, 06:26 AM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: Eleven Rack direct monitoring always on

Hello Guys,

It's been hot here lately, far too hot to use the computer during the day, and didn't want to to use the computer with Pro Tools at night. But I needed to see what was happening. Anyway, I had a couple of ear blowouts when I wasn't ready with some changes I had made, but, no one heard over the top of air conditioners and fans.

So, I loaded up Pro Tools had that awful doubling sound Benoni was talking about in his last post. Turned the low latency on/off, but, the 11R sound was coming through as well as the BIAS sound on the armed track. I can't stop it. Twice now for reasons I can't fathom it wasn't there, but, every other time it is.

The only thing I can think of to stop it is to make a preset on the 11R that was all banks clear, but, I can't help thinking that the sound will be coloured by the 11R and not really getting the full Bias amp/FX experience. Any thought on that? Anything else that I might try that will stop the 11R coming through?

It's 1:00 in the AM and I've broken out in a sweat, luckily I have a bottle of ice water with me to stop having a complete mind meltdown.

Thanks and Regards.
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP

Last edited by Vercingetorix; 01-23-2019 at 06:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-23-2019, 09:52 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,626
Default Re: Eleven Rack direct monitoring always on

Try trashing prefs. Then do the workaround again. It's not 100%, but it usually works eventually - at least on Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-24-2019, 07:50 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: Eleven Rack direct monitoring always on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Try trashing prefs. Then do the workaround again. It's not 100%, but it usually works eventually - at least on Windows.
Hello All,

I tried trashing the Prefs, re-establishing the I/O because they were gone, Arming/disarming tracks and using the Low Latency thingy to get the Eleven Rack from sending its signal through Pro Tools all to no avail.

However there is one thing I never thought to mention too busy dealing with the heat, tiredness and generally not feeling well about my current situation - long story. So, I'll bring it up now because it might be at the root of this problem. Anyway when even I go to use ProTools I have to turn on the Eleven Rack, ProTools tells me to turn on the hardware or cancel out of the booting up process, then I turn on my monitors. But a couple of days ago I didn't boot up ProTools, I switched on the Eleven Rack, turned on the monitors and too my surprise the Eleven Rack was magically coming through the monitors without being in ProTools or having any tracks armed - it wasn't coming through the PC speakers only the monitors. So would this be the root of my problem - sound coming through the monitors but not in area way related to ProTools?!? Or is this normal behaviour?

Thankyou And Regards.
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP

Last edited by Vercingetorix; 01-24-2019 at 08:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-26-2019, 02:52 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: Eleven Rack direct monitoring always on

I suppose I should mention that I am using:
Windows: 8.1
11R driver: v1.1.7 (edit: v1.1.11)
ProTools: v11.2.2

Would that help finding a solution?
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-26-2019, 04:33 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: Eleven Rack direct monitoring always on

Ok was playing around with ProTools again this time I decided to play around with the arming of the tracks as well muting & soloing tracks and this got interesting. It seems muting the track with the 11R on it allowed for the other dry track with the Bias Amp and stereo Inserts seem to work (properly!?!) - I can't stress the seem enough. But then even if I disarm the track it will continue to come through (ie Bias and Stereo) over the top of whatever is being played, so, I will need to then use the mute and will continue to need to mute more tracks as the tracks add up which will only affect recording and will probably be playing to a click or other instrument.

So it's annoying yes, but, that is something I can live with.

Will post again if this stops working, and knowing my luck it will probably be tomorrow .
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-27-2019, 12:36 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,626
Default Re: Eleven Rack direct monitoring always on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vercingetorix View Post
Hello All,

I tried trashing the Prefs, re-establishing the I/O because they were gone, Arming/disarming tracks and using the Low Latency thingy to get the Eleven Rack from sending its signal through Pro Tools all to no avail.

However there is one thing I never thought to mention too busy dealing with the heat, tiredness and generally not feeling well about my current situation - long story. So, I'll bring it up now because it might be at the root of this problem. Anyway when even I go to use ProTools I have to turn on the Eleven Rack, ProTools tells me to turn on the hardware or cancel out of the booting up process, then I turn on my monitors. But a couple of days ago I didn't boot up ProTools, I switched on the Eleven Rack, turned on the monitors and too my surprise the Eleven Rack was magically coming through the monitors without being in ProTools or having any tracks armed - it wasn't coming through the PC speakers only the monitors. So would this be the root of my problem - sound coming through the monitors but not in area way related to ProTools?!? Or is this normal behaviour?

Thankyou And Regards.
That behavior sounds normal. You can use the Eleven Rack without Pro Tools being opened or even having the unit connected to a computer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Re-Amp monitoring not working Ennimusic Eleven Rack 13 04-19-2015 12:25 PM
Eleven Rack monitoring? saheyl macOS 1 02-01-2013 10:53 PM
Eleven Rack & in-ear monitoring DonaldR Eleven Rack 1 03-10-2012 05:50 PM
Vocalrecording - Eleven Rack - Low Latency Monitoring? wiseman Eleven Rack 8 07-01-2011 06:52 AM
Direct Monitoring with Digi 002 Rack iCymiCy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-31-2009 07:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com