Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:43 AM
danonbass danonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 63
Default Digital Distortion On Playback

I'm getting a weird digital type noise when opening sessions. It's difficult to explain. When I open a session it will load normally, but when I playback the audio there is a digital distortion on top of the audio. The problem is intermittent and will sometimes go away by closing PT and reopening the session, sometimes by restarting the computer and reopening the session, sometimes it will take multiple restarts to work properly. I've trashed preferences, but the problem keeps occurring.


PT 11.3.1
OS 10.10.5
Mac Pro mid 2010
2.8 quad core intel xeon
8 gb 1066 mhz ddr3 ecc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:46 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: P.R.
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

Hi danon !

Sounds like it coukd be a driver issue to me . Can you install your Interface driver again ? ( btw wich one? ) .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - i7 CPU 4770k
Asus A97-AR mobo - 32gb DDR3 ram
Samsung 850 evo SSD 500gb - Radeon 470rx
Corsair 750w PSU
Lynx Aurora 8
Clarett Pre 8 X Thunderbolt - Protools Ultimate
Avalon 2022 - Octane 8 - Scarlett Dynamic 8pre
Uad 2 quad - Waves Gold
McDsp Emerald - Duy Everpack
Tc Powercore Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:49 AM
danonbass danonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

I'm using a UA Apollo Quad Silverface
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:57 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: P.R.
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

Wordclock ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - i7 CPU 4770k
Asus A97-AR mobo - 32gb DDR3 ram
Samsung 850 evo SSD 500gb - Radeon 470rx
Corsair 750w PSU
Lynx Aurora 8
Clarett Pre 8 X Thunderbolt - Protools Ultimate
Avalon 2022 - Octane 8 - Scarlett Dynamic 8pre
Uad 2 quad - Waves Gold
McDsp Emerald - Duy Everpack
Tc Powercore Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2018, 09:13 AM
danonbass danonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

Not sure. How can I tell?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:04 AM
danonbass danonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

If I understand this right. I am not using any other outside device for a word clock.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:17 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: P.R.
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

Hi the apollo doesn't have a control panel application so you can verify the clock settings ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - i7 CPU 4770k
Asus A97-AR mobo - 32gb DDR3 ram
Samsung 850 evo SSD 500gb - Radeon 470rx
Corsair 750w PSU
Lynx Aurora 8
Clarett Pre 8 X Thunderbolt - Protools Ultimate
Avalon 2022 - Octane 8 - Scarlett Dynamic 8pre
Uad 2 quad - Waves Gold
McDsp Emerald - Duy Everpack
Tc Powercore Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:27 AM
danonbass danonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

It says the Clock Source is set to Internal.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:30 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: P.R.
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

Ok great now in Protools , is set to external ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - i7 CPU 4770k
Asus A97-AR mobo - 32gb DDR3 ram
Samsung 850 evo SSD 500gb - Radeon 470rx
Corsair 750w PSU
Lynx Aurora 8
Clarett Pre 8 X Thunderbolt - Protools Ultimate
Avalon 2022 - Octane 8 - Scarlett Dynamic 8pre
Uad 2 quad - Waves Gold
McDsp Emerald - Duy Everpack
Tc Powercore Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:42 AM
danonbass danonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Digital Distortion On Playback

Can't find that. In "Setup>Hardware in the "Peripherals" box "Universal Audio Apollo" is listed. There was a clock setting in the window in earlier PT versions, but not here in 11.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help please digital distortion Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-06-2017 02:49 PM
HD I/O thunderbolt (digital distortion playback) dbiscuit Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 03-11-2014 10:27 PM
Digital Distortion On Playback howilostmyway Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-30-2007 07:04 AM
Digital distortion STUDIO A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-18-2004 05:00 AM
PT 6 OSX - Digital Distortion Markk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-14-2003 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com