Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2014, 03:39 PM
blastman blastman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Another Firewire interface?

Hi

I am currently running PT8, considering upgrading to PT10. One ultimatum is that I would be able to connect another firewire interface together with my DigiRack 003 to extend the numbers of inputs when live recording.

Does anyone have experience using a third party firewire interface together with a digirack or similar to extend inpus? Is it possible at all?

Hope for your reply

Blastman
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2014, 07:05 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: Another Firewire interface?

The only way to expand the inputs is with adat and/or spdif. You can't daisy chain other FireWire interfaces with the digi003. There may be some other 3rd party interfaces that can, but not the digi003.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2014, 08:24 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,307
Default Re: Another Firewire interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
The only way to expand the inputs is with adat and/or spdif. You can't daisy chain other FireWire interfaces with the digi003. There may be some other 3rd party interfaces that can, but not the digi003.
I remember a couple years back I was looking at a new interface possibility and I think the Mackie Onyx 1640i does allow FW chaining...but I'm not sure.

I'm curious as to why go to PT-10 instead of 11?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2014, 09:52 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: Another Firewire interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I remember a couple years back I was looking at a new interface possibility and I think the Mackie Onyx 1640i does allow FW chaining...but I'm not sure.

I'm curious as to why go to PT-10 instead of 11?

I think some of the presonus boxes can also be daisy chained. But just to clarify. This is with other boxes of the same brand. You can't mix boxes. And the driver has to support it. Avid boxes of any series (mbox/digi00x) do not support it.

And I too would go straight to pt11. But to each his own.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2014, 10:38 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,826
Default Re: Another Firewire interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blastman View Post
...extend the numbers of inputs when live recording...
food for thought...

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2129798&postcount=6
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9 Rjones17 macOS 5 12-14-2012 09:06 PM
1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 11-22-2010 05:08 PM
HD System and Firewire Interface joshuamckendry Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-31-2010 04:01 PM
Firewire vs USB interface Jeff E Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 08-12-2008 07:16 AM
firewire interface kav 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-01-2004 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com