Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 09-28-2020, 08:55 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 791
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I have the same 10-core custom trashcan as you have, except mine has 64GB memory and 2TB storage. No heat issues here so it must be a software thing.
That's encouraging to know. I HAVE looked at the logs after a freeze and I see plenty of 'Burning Processor' entries. I may as well bite the bullet and upgrade to Catalina and the latest version of PT..I don't know what it is, but it'll be in my account...at least then I can have a smoother 'transition' if I decide to go with a new Mac Pro.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-28-2020, 09:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,382
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
That's encouraging to know. I HAVE looked at the logs after a freeze and I see plenty of 'Burning Processor' entries. I may as well bite the bullet and upgrade to Catalina and the latest version of PT..I don't know what it is, but it'll be in my account...at least then I can have a smoother 'transition' if I decide to go with a new Mac Pro.
But don't in-situ upgrade... try out Catalina and 2020.x on a new macOS install, ideally you have space for an extra APFS container on the internal drive. Just see how it behaves as a test. Getting past 2019.5 was a big thing for some users with CPU stability, and for me with some plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-29-2020, 11:48 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 791
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
But don't in-situ upgrade... try out Catalina and 2020.x on a new macOS install, ideally you have space for an extra APFS container on the internal drive. Just see how it behaves as a test. Getting past 2019.5 was a big thing for some users with CPU stability, and for me with some plugins.
Got it. I've got an external TB 4-drive bay with 4 1 TB SSD's. 1 drive has the OS, and 2 have data, the 3rd is for a second OS...I'll be updating that one.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 10-10-2020, 05:50 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 791
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
But don't in-situ upgrade... try out Catalina and 2020.x on a new macOS install, ideally you have space for an extra APFS container on the internal drive. Just see how it behaves as a test. Getting past 2019.5 was a big thing for some users with CPU stability, and for me with some plugins.
I don't want to hit this thread with any more of these my puter's broke posts, so I'll start a new one. Maybe I can get this sorted out with a little more help.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Macintosh Audio JoeyBoomBox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-21-2007 10:41 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-10-2005 12:37 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-10-2005 10:14 AM
MacIntosh Plus??? j old school 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-29-2002 07:57 AM
Macintosh USB Audio In N9YTY Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-13-2001 08:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com