Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2014, 08:59 PM
Protools8matt Protools8matt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9
Default Newly imported or recorded audio playback problems - Pro Tools 8.04 [RESOLVED]

Hi, I have been using Pro Tools for many years and not had a problem like this before until now! I have searched the net but not found anybody that has suffered from this before either, maybe you can help (I'm using pro tools 8.04 with an mbox 2 and a 2011 imac, and have been for some time):

I was recently working on a large session using 48khz audio AIFS, and at one stage I dragged from my browser a couple of 44.1 mp3s - something seemed to have gone wrong in their conversion as despite being able to see their waveforms, playing them would bizarrely not output any sound, or register in the track meter. The regions were located on tracks with other audible files, and no muting, automated volume or output routing was applied that would have prevented me from hearing the file. Ever since this happened ANY imported or newly recorded audio has given me issues when attempting to play it back, in ANY session - the process has somehow stopped working altogether!

All audio from existing sessions still plays just fine, but any newly introduced audio, either freshly recorded or Imported is problematic. Imported audio, depending on sample rate and possibly filetype, either makes no sound at all, bizarrely only plays quietly in one channel, or, more often than not will result in a hideous distortion sound. I bounced a chunk of it down so you can hear what it sounds like, but I warn you to turn down your speakers right down first, this is nasty!!!: https://www.mediafire.com/?ghwx38xm0c2ckgv

Recorded audio is audible, but mixed with the same painful distortion noise described above.

All of the audio files that won't play back correctly look perfectly normal in terms of their waveforms, I could even make an edit to an affected file, export it as a new file - and the new file will play back perfectly well, edits and all in a regular player. Similarly recorded audio can still be exported and sound fine in other software (also running through the mbox 2). But the output via pro tools is screwed.

Trashing the prefs has no effect. The only workaround I could find was to save a copy of an affected session, copying all audio files and converting the file type- then the newly copied session will playback fine. Far from ideal. I also had ableton live software open when the problem first occurred, I don't know if that has somehow contributed to this current mess.

Any ideas??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2014, 06:04 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Lightbulb Re: Newly imported or recorded audio playback problems - Pro Tools 8.04

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protools8matt View Post
Any ideas??
Do a clean uninstall of Pro Tools and then reinstall Pro Tools.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2014, 02:56 PM
Protools8matt Protools8matt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: Newly imported or recorded audio playback problems - Pro Tools 8.04

Reinstalling pro tools didn't help, so I ended up resorting to restoring my system via an older time machine backup, and everything was fine, or so I thought!

Now Pro Tools is giving me the same issues as before, except now playback of freshly recorded or imported audio always just sounds like white noise. I can't understand why -- I've used the same setup for years, and the fact that the restored system functioned perfectly well for a number of weeks would seem to suggest it's not a hardware problem, I've thoroughly checked the net and can't find anyone else complaining about the same issue!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2014, 03:53 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Newly imported or recorded audio playback problems - Pro Tools 8.04

make me think some of your hardware is going south
do you have a friend with a rig to try your session on them maybe their interface on your rig
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2014, 04:26 AM
Protools8matt Protools8matt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: Newly imported or recorded audio playback problems - Pro Tools 8.04

I have found a solution! The problematic sessions (and all my most recent sessions) were saved to my root hard drive. Yeah I know, I'm well aware this is not recommended but it has given me no problems or performance issues in the past. I am very relieved to have discovered that when using an external firewire drive everything functions normally! That's good enough for me, thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2014, 09:33 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Newly imported or recorded audio playback problems - Pro Tools 8.04

glad you got it fixed
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio on newly recorded tracks is out of sync lectrohowie macOS 0 04-09-2012 08:12 PM
massive digital glitchy noise on newly recorded audio? (sample included) awritersparadise Pro Tools 9 4 07-28-2011 05:54 PM
Newly recorded tracks play out of sync Kourquie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-13-2009 04:57 PM
Plays imported wavs, records new wavs, BUT WON'T PLAY NEWLY RECORDED WAVs cmoseman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-02-2008 10:20 AM
Newly recorded audio, here a minute, GONE the next storm-01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-30-2003 01:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com