Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2018, 08:00 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default Won't Install on Mac OS 10.13 - Is There No End?!

I've just purchased ProTools on a monthly subscription, downloaded the DMG and tried to load. I'm running Mac OS 10.13, High Sierra. ProTools installer says :
Pro Tools cannot be installed because the following error(s) were found on your system:
- An incompatible version of the OS was found. Pro Tools 10.3.10 requires Mac OS X version 10.7 or higher.


I've lost at least two hours this morning in the studio dealing with one episode after another of either crap software or firmware that have version collisions, connectivity issues, etc, all resulting from manufacturer incompetence, and it's become a very costly, daily routine.

So what is it this time, Avid? I'm running 10.13 on my Mac. Why isn't the installer seeing that? What array of hoops do I have to navigate my way through to defeat this nonsense? I've downloaded the Pro Tools 10.3.10 Installer (Mac) (2.33 GB) package. What else do I need to do to get it to install? Am I wearing the wrong color shirt? Should my system be facing north instead of west? Is it because I'm attempting to do this on a Thursday, or something I had for breakfast?

I've bought your product. I need to install it.

Last edited by Cayce; 08-23-2018 at 08:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2018, 08:52 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: Won't Install on Mac OS 10.13 - Is There No End?!

If you’ve purchased a monthly subscription, it should be PT2018 not PT10.

PT2018 is the version that’s compatible with that OS and is the latest version.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2018, 09:14 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Won't Install on Mac OS 10.13 - Is There No End?!

Thank you for your response, Sardi, but that not only doesn't solve the problem but only ads to PT's apparent incompetence. If I'm supposed to be using PT2018, why was I directed to a "My Products" page showing only PT10 for my system? Where is this PT2018?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2018, 09:30 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: Won't Install on Mac OS 10.13 - Is There No End?!

That I can’t help you with unfortunately.

The only people that should have access to PT10 are people like myself that bought into a perpetual plan when PT10 was actually released. We have access to v10, v11, v12/v2018.

AFAIK, monthly subscription plans should only have access to the current version which would be PT2018 and that would work with your Mac OS.

I’d hit up support or search out a guy called Jeffro on this forum who will be able to solve your issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2018, 09:33 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Won't Install on Mac OS 10.13 - Is There No End?!

That's ok... I found it. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2018, 03:26 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,124
Default Re: Won't Install on Mac OS 10.13 - Is There No End?!

And...
What was the issue that conjured up so much disgust?
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2018, 05:37 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Won't Install on Mac OS 10.13 - Is There No End?!

"Is there no end"....not to incompetence.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install PTHD 8.1.1 udater on Win7x64 and says valid install not found 8.0.3 is there rnygren Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 10-25-2014 11:58 PM
Mountain Lion/PT Install/Ilok install problems alex obradovic macOS 7 07-14-2013 07:19 PM
Pro Tools 10.3.2 wont even install! After clean windows 7 install!!! shamanrock Windows 13 12-27-2012 05:39 PM
First install of Pro Tools 9 - Logic 9 already installed - PlugIn install questions b-pole macOS 2 08-31-2011 08:23 AM
Can't install Pro Tools LE - Insert disc but no option to install Paul McConnell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-22-2010 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com