Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2003, 01:06 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

Maybe a gate with a sidechain would work like that. When you use some handsfree phones, it sounds like there's a gate working...

There are also feedback killer boxes, but i think they are just an EQ with a very sharp dip that is adjustable to match the feedback frequency.

good luck!
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2003, 01:26 PM
Agug123 Agug123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 162
Default Re: Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

i agree you would want a gate not a comp.
maybe just 1/3 octave eq would do the trick as well?
that the usuall feedback killer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2003, 01:34 PM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

How do you key a gate so that when one lets audio threw, the other one is closed off? All I know is that you can make another gate close at the same time that the first gate is closing, thats keying right? I don't want both gates to be closed at the same time, I want to have one close when the other opens. Thats why I thought a compressor might do the trick because it would start compressing one side when the other went above the threshold.
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2003, 01:50 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

Set it so that it only opens up when someone actually speaks, and let that be gated. So no speaking = gate closed, speaking will open the gate.

People usually dont speak at the same time, so i think it will work. And yes, it will take a little training for all the people involved...

And the gate doesnt have to be closed all the way down, but just a reduction in level. It is very much possible to have an open (no headsets) connection with no feedback (i do it every week...director talking to presentor, speaker on the floor, speaker in the controlroom), but you have to watch the levels very very carefully, and there the gate will help.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2003, 05:29 PM
Roly Roly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Whitehorse
Posts: 195
Default Re: Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

Hi Calvin
I think you are looking for a gate with a ducking function. In duck mode the gate is always open until it gets signal at the key input then it closes.
Roly
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2003, 05:41 PM
marcusb marcusb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

I agree with Roly, 'ducking' is what you are after. You want the gate to pass the main signal all the time but to 'duck' the main signal when someone askes a question (routed into the gate sidechain).

The Drawmer DS201 would work perfectly in this situation and you get two gates in one rack space with inbuilt key filters. You could use one side for the question mic (as a gate) and the other side for your main program set to duck.

Cheers,
Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2003, 08:18 PM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

thanks, the "ducking" is what I am looking for. I just didn't know what it was called. Thanks alot guys.
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2003, 12:54 AM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning?

Hey guys,
I'm working on designing a distance learning system for the College of Dentistry where I work. One of the rooms is pretty easy to do, but the second one is a larger lecture hall that can hold about 120 people. The only thing that we are worried about is some feedback over distance learning. I know that if I got 2 compressors I could have one compressor on the audio comming in, it could key the second compressor on the lecture hall's audio so that the kids on the other end can ask a question without getting feedback. Is there a better way to do this? I would like something that just took the level down instead of compressing it, but I'm not sure what would do that. Any Ideas? Thanks for any help guys.
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio signal or midi signal after pro tools 8.04 upgrade allgenres 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-01-2010 08:58 AM
Signal strength over distance kevinc333 General Discussion 5 01-15-2009 10:17 AM
No Midi signal, no audio signal, buzzing monitors! 1tonstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-26-2004 07:01 AM
HOT SIGNAL (INPUT VOLUME) werds meka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 05-22-2004 03:08 PM
synced with pro tools- see signal, but can't hear signal- HELP!!!! hitwriter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-30-2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com