Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2011, 02:59 PM
Paul B. Paul B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 83
Default Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Just bought this guy, plug it in, XLR to console, line level, lines are clean as hell and I get some kind of digital noise coming from the R11.. Niiiiiice.
Sucks... I hate it when you have to bring the [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] back.
I hope it's worth it!

Or is this sound normal? I haven't pluged it into PT yet... just listen to the output of the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2011, 03:28 PM
maddmatt maddmatt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Posts: 101
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Shouldn't be any noise, the desk will see a signal from the 11R but there should not be any noise. Have you tried using the ground lift on the back of the 11R?, Tried different channels or tried turning phantom power off to the channels?

How about the gain level on the channel has that been set correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2011, 03:32 PM
Paul B. Paul B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Yes, this is a professional studio, been doing it a while.
The board is an SSL and it's clean. There is no power to the channel and I'm using line level anyway so it's not on the path. I did try clicking the ground lift in the back but this is not a ground buzz. It's really clicks, not quit digital noise but almost that.

I thought maybe I had to install PT and the USB to make it go away...
But I'm thinking this is just a bad unit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2011, 03:43 PM
maddmatt maddmatt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Posts: 101
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Clicking makes me think it could be interference possibly on the mains, or a level on the 11R on maximum, pretty sure Chris will be along and will give you more info. Does the 11R have the latest firmware?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2011, 03:49 PM
Paul B. Paul B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

I didnt' update anything yet. Just turned it on and heard the noise.
I didn't plug the USB cable in yet either.
I was told it was a e series version, whatever that means.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2011, 04:48 PM
TheChimp's Avatar
TheChimp TheChimp is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 859
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Do the clicks only happen during the boot process? Those are normal. If you continue to hear clicks after that, try going to User Options, Digital Clock/Input, and toggle the sample rate. See if that helps.

It is possible that you have a faulty unit as well. If my advice doesn't help, you should contact Avid CS and get a replacement sent out.
__________________
_______________________________
The Chimp
Delivery Manager/CSM, Guitar Products/AAX Plug-ins
P&S Creative Professional
AVID
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2011, 04:55 PM
Paul B. Paul B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

No this is not while booting. It's silent while booting.
As soon as the first sound appears, then the clicks also appear.
I was gonna try and switch the digital settings but I couldn't find any settings buttons on the front. Remember that I haven't installed anything into PT or that the USB cable isn't plugged up. Where are the options ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2011, 06:35 PM
TheChimp's Avatar
TheChimp TheChimp is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 859
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Hold the EDIT/BACK button for a couple of seconds (note that it says 'Hold for User Options' right by the button )to get to the User Options menu. Scroll down to 'Digital Clock/Input' and try toggling the sample rate. You can also set the clock to Internal, change the digital source between S/PDIF and AES/EBU etc. in that page.
__________________
_______________________________
The Chimp
Delivery Manager/CSM, Guitar Products/AAX Plug-ins
P&S Creative Professional
AVID
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2011, 06:40 PM
Paul B. Paul B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Yeees, that fixed it..
Int 44.1k Crackles
Int 48k Clean
Int 88.2k Crackles
Int 96k Clean
External Clean

So I'm leaving it on 48k

But is my R11 defective ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2011, 07:37 PM
DAR Fritz DAR Fritz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 130
Default Re: Brand new R11 Digital NOISE !!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul B. View Post
Yeees, that fixed it..
Int 44.1k Crackles
Int 48k Clean
Int 88.2k Crackles
Int 96k Clean
External Clean

So I'm leaving it on 48k

But is my R11 defective ?
More than likely.

Most of us that have had problems were at 44 and 88. It typically will work if you toggle the sampling rate like you did. I believe Avid has identified the problem and worked it out. They have been great about getting new units out right away. Call them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noise from my brand new Eleven Rack zuriain Eleven Rack 4 02-01-2011 11:44 PM
Unable to get Pro Tools 8.0 to launch w/ brand new Mac Pro and brand new 003 ohheyandrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-16-2009 10:18 PM
Digital noise from PT Voxer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-19-2005 01:33 PM
Digital Noise E-Buzz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-30-2003 04:05 PM
Digital noise. postboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-21-2000 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com