Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-01-2020, 01:09 PM

Default Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

I've been working with PT for a couple of years now using just a mouse and keyboard, plus a faderport for a transport. I just got a new iPad and downloaded the Avid Control app. The Control app is cool, but I don't see how I can do anything I'm currently doing faster or better with it. Over the past couple of years I've tried several different control surfaces including the Artist Mix and even a Slate Raven. I found all of them to be more complicated and slow to use than just clicking with the mouse.

I see a lot of people on this forum have been using the S3 and now the S1 to control PT and I'm wondering...

Are they really more convenient / faster then the mouse / keyboard or are some folks just not comfortable with the mouse?
Old 02-01-2020, 01:17 PM

Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

The potential for speed with a surface is there. Most people coming from a mouse and keyboard cant get through the initial slow down it takes to "learn" a surface. If you can get through it, the workflow is so much more immersive IMO.

It really is about how you want to work. People mix hits with a mouse and keyboard, some with surfaces. Some people have 80k controllers right in front of them that just follow whatever they do with a mouse and keyboard. haha
Old 02-01-2020, 05:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellis Beckwith View Post
... are they really more convenient / faster then the mouse / keyboard or are some folks just not comfortable with the mouse?